Show List Using Metric Units

Unsuccessful Ascent List for Margaret Priest

No one can call themselves an experienced mountaineer unless they have turned back unsuccessfully from some of their summit attempts. Climbing is a game of knowing when to press on and when to bail, and these choices can mean the difference between great success and needless death. It is a misnomer, of course, to call any trip into the mountains “unsuccessful” —these attempts are often richer experiences with far more opportunities for learning and growth.

The following table shows all of Margaret Priest's unsuccessful attempts. If the peak was climbed later, then the successful ascent date is noted, and how much time elapsed since the attempt. The “Attempt” column will be 2, 3, or other higher numbers for peaks that have been unsuccessfully attempted more than once. Unsuccessful attempts of peaks that have already been climbed are also shown.

Ascent DateTrip ReportPeak or PointElev-ftReached-ftAttemptLocationProm-ftSuccess DateTime Elapsed
2007-03-11 Mount Moosilauke48024400 USA-NH29322010-01-13 b2 Years, 308 Days Later
2012-06-24 The Captain35203400 USA-NH2002012-11-17146 Days Later
2013-01-04 Katahdin52684222 USA-ME42882013-12-29359 Days Later
2013-01-05 South Turner Mountain31231781 USA-ME5632014-10-111 Year, 279 Days Later

Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks successfully climbed after unsuccessful attempt   = Unclimbed peaks  (Note: Unsuccessful attempts on previously climbed peaks are not shown)

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

Copyright © 1987-2021 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service