Snapshot Grid for Western USA - Highest Point Reached

Jim Langdon's Ascents by Year/Place

Links for other Grid Types:Use Meters Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  
Links for other Regional Divisions:
  Eastern USA - States    North America/World Hybrid    Europe - Countries    Europe/World Hybrid    


0Δ Point Defiance Park HP          
1962Δ Observation Rock          
1963Δ Sugarloaf          
1964Δ Pre-eruption Mount Saint Helens          
1965Δ Rainier          
1966Δ RainierΔ Hood         
1967Δ AdamsΔ Hood    Δ Grand Teton    
1968Δ Rainier          
1969Δ Liberty Cap Δ Sentinel Rock        
1970Δ RainierΔ Hood-XΔ Polly Dome   Δ Grand TetonΔ Lone   
1971Δ Liberty Bell-X Δ Half Dome  Δ GraniteΔ Grand Teton Δ First Flatiron-X  
1972Δ Grand Central Tower    Δ SnowbankΔ Pilot    
1973Δ Stuart-X   Δ Table RockΔ Bear's Face-X Δ Window Blind   
1974Δ Little Annapurna-X Δ El Capitan   Δ Woodring-XΔ Timpanogos   
1975Δ Rainier-X          
1976Δ Chair Δ Half Dome   Δ East Temple Δ Longs Δ Wheeler
1977 Δ Jefferson-X    Δ East Temple    
1978Δ SpokaneΔ McLoughlinΔ Shasta Δ Chimney Rock      
1979Δ Point Success Δ El Capitan-X Δ Ball Lakes  Δ Coffin Buttress   
1980Δ Rainier   Δ ParkerΔ Elephant     
1981Δ Rainier   Δ Pyramid-X      
1982Δ RainierΔ South SisterΔ KT-22 Δ Chimney RockΔ Granite     
1983Δ Rainier   Δ Twin Peaks-S Pk      
1984Δ Rainier   Δ Snowy Top      
1985Δ Rainier   Δ HarrisonΔ Lonesome Δ Pfeifferhorn-X   
1986Δ Rainier   Δ West Canfield ButteΔ Granite-X     
1987Δ RainierΔ Hood         
1988Δ Rainier   Δ Twin      
1989Δ Rainier Δ Liberty Cap Δ Ball Lakes      
1990Δ Buckner   Δ Pyramid      
1991Δ Jack-X   Δ Mineral Ridge      
1992Δ Minnehaha Rocks   Δ Sunset      
1993Δ Seven Fingered Jack   Δ Mineral Ridge Δ Little Bear Point    
1994Δ Salmo Mountain Lookout   Δ Heaven's Gate      
1995Δ Saint Helens-X   Δ PoleΔ Trapper     
1996Δ Logan   Δ Joe-X      
1997Δ Minnehaha Rocks   Δ WardΔ Ward Δ Bald   
1998Δ Blue Lake   Δ Peak 7544      
1999Δ Lexington Tower   Δ Coeur d'Alene-X      
2000Δ Syncline   Δ Latour Baldy    Δ Graham 
2001Δ Saint Helens   Δ Packsaddle      
2002Δ Burroughs   Δ Pyramid Δ Clay Butte Lookout    
2003Δ Panorama Point   Δ Borah Δ Fremont    
2004Δ Rainier-X   Δ Borah-XΔ Wilse     
2005Δ Adams Δ Lassen Δ LunchΔ Triple Divide     
2006Δ Rainier      Δ Navajo Dome   
2007Δ Dragontail    Δ Granite-X     
2008Δ Castle Rock  Δ Hole in the MountainΔ Little Roman Nose      
2009Δ Stuart   Δ West Canfield Butte      
2010Δ Adams   Δ Peak 7353 Δ Fremont    
2011Δ Baker    Δ Snowshoe     
2012Δ Eldorado   Δ IllinoisΔ Illinois     
2013Δ Sloan          
2014Δ Cashmere   Δ South Selkirk Crest Δ East Temple    
2015Δ Glacier   Δ Bare Peak NorthwestΔ Bare Peak NorthwestΔ Peak 12122    
2016Δ Steptoe Butte   Δ ScottΔ Eagle Cliff     
2017Δ CalispellΔ Drake Δ CatnipΔ Harrison  Δ AbajoΔ Pikes Δ Elk
2018Δ Bonaparte   Δ CacheΔ Northwest Δ Naomi Δ Lemmon 
2019Δ RemmelΔ Steens  Δ DiamondΔ SheepΔ Stockaid Benchmark    
2020Δ GypsyΔ StrawberryΔ Hatchet-X Δ North TargheeΔ Black Butte Δ Logan   
2021Δ BuckΔ Glass Butte Δ North SchellΔ SnowysideΔ Big PryorΔ GannettΔ Nebo   
2022Δ Peak 3866   Δ Peak 3836      


Legend for Color Coding

20,000 feet or more
14,000 to 19,999 feet
10,000 to 13,999 feet
5,000 to 9,999 feet
2,000 to 4,999 feet
Below 2,000 ft

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Notes on Regions:

  • The "ND->TX" column includes 6 states: ND, SD, NE, KS, OK, and TX.

Copyright © 1987-2022 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service