Snapshot Grid for Western USA - Highest Point Reached

Gordon MacLeod's Ascents by Year/Place

Links for other Grid Types:Use Meters Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  
Links for other Regional Divisions:
  Eastern USA - States    North America/World Hybrid    Europe - Countries    Europe/World Hybrid    


0   Δ Green Benchmark  Δ LaddΔ BaldΔ Peak 11749   
1919 Δ Tower          
1934  Δ Davidson         
1937  Δ Half Dome         
1949  Δ Pechacho Benchmark         
1950  Δ Blacktop         
1951  Δ Gordo         
1952  Δ Fin Dome         
1953  Δ Basin Mountain-SW Pk   Δ Middle Teton     
1956  Δ Trail         
1957  Δ Mammoth         
1958  Δ Pilot         
1959  Δ Whitney         
1960  Δ Pip-squeak Spire      Δ Pinkley  
1961  Δ Spencer         
1962  Δ Split      Δ Signal  
1963  Δ WilliamsonΔ Boundary        
1964  Δ White MountainΔ Wheeler  Δ Grand Teton  Δ Baboquivari  
1965Δ Rainier Δ North PalisadeΔ Charleston   Δ Navajo Δ Humphreys  
1966  Δ Starlight   Δ Gannett  Δ Superstition Benchmark  
1967  Δ BirchΔ Muddy Benchmark        
1968  Δ Corcoran-S Pk      Δ Peak 7872  
1969  Δ Colosseum         
1970  Δ Williamson-Far Northeast Horn         
1971  Δ Middle Palisade         
1972  Δ EricssonΔ Ruby Dome   Δ South Guardian Angel Δ Tipton  
1973  Δ Gregorys Monument         
1974  Δ Keyhole Plateau    Δ North Guardian Angel    
1975  Δ Carl Heller         
1976  Δ Aperture         
1977  Δ White Mountains Peak 13615Δ Magruder        
1978  Δ MorgensonΔ Bare   Δ EllenΔ Wilson   
1979  Δ Broken FingerΔ Virgin    Δ HarvardΔ Crossman  
1980  Δ Balcony Δ Borah   Δ BlancaΔ Iron  
1981 Δ HoodΔ Palisade Crest     Δ ElbertΔ HarquahalaΔ Wheeler 
1982  Δ White Mountains Peak 13908  Δ Granite  Δ GraysΔ Old Smokey  
1983  Δ Long   Δ Wind RiverΔ Kings Δ Smith  
1984  Δ Mohawk   Δ Raid  Δ Turtle  
1985  Δ Peak 12565Δ Horse Benchmark Δ Wood   Δ Pinta Benchmark  
1986  Δ Peak 3560Δ Hole in the MountainΔ Elk    Δ Cherum  
1987  Δ Middle SisterΔ Jefferson-North Summit Δ CastleΔ Downs  Δ Peak 5830  
1988  Δ WalkerΔ Greys  Δ CloudΔ Deseret Δ Fremont  
1989 Δ SacajaweaΔ WhiteΔ North SchellΔ Hyndman  Δ West Mountain Δ Graham Δ Guadalupe
1990  Δ FletcherΔ Baker Peak-West SummitΔ Standhope    Δ BaldyΔ Aspen 
1991  Δ WhitecliffΔ Baker   Δ EllenΔ SpaldingΔ Roof Butte  
1992  Δ Tioga CrestΔ Currant   Δ PealeΔ VermilionΔ Peak 4030  
1993  Δ Silver Peak - Northeast SummitΔ Hamilton   Δ IbapahΔ HopeΔ Fortification Hill  
1994  Δ WheelerΔ Ward   Δ Fish Lake HightopΔ FletcherΔ Hopkins  
1995  Δ Red TopΔ Baldy   Δ Diamond Cinder ConeΔ JonesΔ Dellenbaugh  
1996  Δ CentennialΔ Summit  Δ FebbasΔ Timpanogos Δ Emma Δ Black Elk
1997  Δ Kaweah QueenΔ Lewis   Δ Delano Δ Guajalote  
1998  Δ EagleΔ Pilot   Δ Nebo Δ Webb  
1999  Δ BaldΔ Cherry Creek Benchmark     Δ Peak 4489  
2000  Δ Middle Sister-Northeast RidgeΔ Schell Creek Peak 3595   Δ Poorman Benchmark Δ Sugarloaf  
2001  Δ Parsons Peak-Northwest Ridge      Δ House  
2002  Δ Newton DruryΔ Taft     Δ Kaibab Plateau HP  
2003  Δ BlackrockΔ Egan Benchmark   Δ Gilbert Δ Towers  
2004  Δ HoffmannΔ Nannies   Δ Stevens Benchmark Δ Peak 8992  
2005  Δ Trail    Δ Marsh Δ Hutch  
2006  Δ Wonoga      Δ Peak 9504Δ Sandia Crest 
2007  Δ Red   Δ Medicine Bow  Δ Peak 8450  
2008  Δ ColdΔ Duane Bliss     Δ Noble  
2009  Δ Baldy-West RidgeΔ Baldy-West Ridge     Δ O'Leary Peak Lookout  
2010 Δ ScottΔ Chinese      Δ Black  
2011  Δ Fresno Dome      Δ Government Knolls South  
2012  Δ Siskiyou Bear Mountain Lookout      Δ Peak 8511  
2013  Δ Peak 2698         
2014  Δ Bennett         
2017  Δ Peak 10242         
2018  Δ Alabama Hills NNW         
2019  Δ San Vicente         


Legend for Color Coding

20,000 feet or more
14,000 to 19,999 feet
10,000 to 13,999 feet
5,000 to 9,999 feet
2,000 to 4,999 feet
Below 2,000 ft

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Notes on Regions:

  • The "ND->TX" column includes 6 states: ND, SD, NE, KS, OK, and TX.

Copyright © 1987-2021 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service