Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Highest Point Reached

Rob Woodall's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Metric Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1971       Δ Snowdon    
1972      Δ Helvellyn     
1976     Δ Carnedd Llewelyn      
1977Δ Kinder Scout           
1981     Δ Ben NevisΔ Stob BinneinΔ Ben Cruachan    
1983     Δ Glamaig      
1986    Δ Bidean Nam BianΔ Sgurr Mór      
1987    Δ Carn EigeΔ Ben Macdui      
1988    Δ Beinn Eighe-Spidean Coire nan ClachΔ Braeriach      
1989  Δ CorserineΔ Sgurr Dubh MorΔ Cairn GormΔ Cairn ToulΔ Culter Fell    Δ Gleouraich
1990Δ Beinn a'Chaorainn  Δ Ben AvonΔ Sgurr na LapaichΔ Ben Starav Δ Broad Law Δ Sgurr nan Ceathreamhnan  
1991  Δ MorvenΔ MonamenachΔ Beinn OdharΔ Stob a'Choin   Δ Fara  
1992  Δ Meall a'Ghiubhais Δ Creag MhorΔ Merrick   Δ Sgurr nan Eugallt  
1993  Δ Geal-charn MorΔ Leathad an TaobhainΔ Garbh-bheinnΔ Clisham     Δ Beinn Udlaidh
1994   Δ Beinn Dearg MorΔ Streap Δ Beinn Dearg   Δ Ben VuirichΔ Beinn Maol Chaluim
1995Δ Creag an Dail Bheag  Δ Ben TeeΔ Caisteal AbhailΔ Askival      
1997     Δ Ben Nevis    Δ PlynlimonΔ Black Chew Head
1998Δ Hungry LawΔ Beinn na h-Eaglaise Δ Creag na h-EararuidhΔ Doune HillΔ Ronas Hill Δ AlphubelΔ Foel CwmcerwynΔ Chwarel y FanΔ Winter HillΔ Mynydd y Betws
1999 Δ Mynydd Bodafon  Δ Scafell PikeΔ StorrΔ Cruachan CharnaΔ ZumsteinspitzeΔ Green LawΔ Cleeve Common  
2000Δ Buidhe BheinnΔ Meikle Says Law Δ Mullach na CarnΔ Mynydd Bwlch-y-GroesΔ Dun CaanΔ Cruach ScarbaΔ Grand CombinΔ Seaforth Island   
2001Δ Dunkery Beacon     Δ CarnanΔ Beinn a'Charnain Δ Beinn DeargΔ DuncolmΔ Merryton Low
2002Δ Creag an AmalaidhΔ Mynydd AnelogΔ Snaefell Δ An SgurrΔ EabhalΔ Ailsa CraigΔ Hill of Stake Δ Dunstable DownsΔ Currock Hill - East TopΔ Pen y Bryn-mawr
2003Δ Eldon Hill Δ Wrotham HillΔ Beinn BhreacΔ ConachairΔ Carnllundain Δ Mynydd MyddfaiΔ Sithean Mor   
2004    Δ IdaΔ BaurtregaumΔ Brown Clee HillΔ Earl's Seat  Δ Table 
2005Δ Meall ChomraidhΔ Worcestershire Beacon Δ MoylussaΔ CintoΔ RotondoΔ Moel Famau  Δ Wolds  
2006  Δ Shining Tor    Δ BuetΔ Pointe Blanche Δ Whernside 
2007Δ Lamberton Hill Δ Teide Δ Black DownΔ KinabaluΔ Kerinci Δ Meikle Black Law   
2008 Δ Great Knoutberry Hill Δ Foel CedigΔ Skomer Island HP Δ EtnaΔ SawtoothΔ ZugspitzeΔ Dundee LawΔ YushanΔ Chimborazo
2009 Δ Craiglee Δ Mullach an EileinΔ Day Mark  Δ DamavandΔ Cnoc GlasΔ Punta la MarmoraΔ El Morrón de la AgujereadaΔ Ruivo
2010Δ Stanley    Δ BlancΔ Le Sommet des DiableretsΔ GlacierΔ HochkönigΔ AmaroΔ Torreón del PinarΔ Chorolque
2011Δ Aconcagua  Δ Oros Giona  Δ AraratΔ Piz BerninaΔ Jebel Toubkal Δ Sanda IslandΔ Colima
2012Δ OrizabaΔ Dunham LodgeΔ SpathiΔ IdaΔ TallabricΔ SchwarzhornΔ ElbertΔ EvansΔ Fuji-san Δ Gebel KatherînaΔ Tajumulco
2013Δ Mauna Kea Δ da AntoniaΔ do Fogo  Δ RainierΔ ShastaΔ Piz Calderas Δ CantillanaΔ Llaima
2014Δ Ritacuba Blanco Δ Hunt LawΔ Montanha do PicoΔ CruachanΔ WhitneyΔ ShastaΔ MuttlerΔ OlympusΔ Stac an ArminΔ Viewing HillΔ Ruapehu
2015Δ Tapuae-o-UenukuΔ Sydenham HillΔ Cameroon Δ Oughtmore Δ GaldhøpiggenΔ Wilhelm Δ Burley MoorΔ Picacho del DiabloΔ Lava Tower
2016Δ KilimanjaroΔ Wimbledon Common   Δ Kirriereoch Hill - Northwest SlopeΔ Gerlachovský štítΔ TödiΔ CarlitΔ Puigmal Δ Chirripó
2017Δ ChirripóΔ Hail Storm Hill - Southeast SlopeΔ AdhelfiΔ Jebel Tidirhine Δ HvannadalshnúkurΔ CivettaΔ AssiniboineΔ Wallensteen Δ Cort-ma Law - East Top 
2018Δ Hanang Δ Jebel Shams   Δ Kizlar SivrisiΔ OverseerΔ Edith Cavell Δ el PotosíΔ Olympus
2019 Δ Ras DashenΔ Gondar Hills Resort Hill    Δ GroßvenedigerΔ Hotaka-dakeΔ Norikura-dake  
2020Δ Thabana Ntlenyana Δ Merbabu  Δ Silverlink ParkΔ Pizzo TamboΔ La Dent ParrachéeΔ TitlisΔ Gramos  
2021      Δ Piz LinardΔ DomΔ PerdidoΔ Posets Δ Estrella HP
2022Δ Wrightson   Δ Moro de MôcoΔ SumbingΔ UncompahgreΔ Twin Sisters PeaksΔ VisoΔ ArjunoΔ MalcanteΔ Bolsón de los Cerillos
2023Δ Las MinasΔ São ToméΔ Loma MansaΔ Apo        


Legend for Color Coding

20,000 feet or more
14,000 to 19,999 feet
10,000 to 13,999 feet
5,000 to 9,999 feet
2,000 to 4,999 feet
Below 2,000 ft

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2023 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service