Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Highest Point Reached

James Stone's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Feet/Miles Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1969      Δ Victoria     
1980      Δ Nottingham M1 Δ Profitas Ilas   
1981    Δ Ben Nevis       
1982  Δ Kinder Low Δ Kinder Scout   Δ Snowdon  Δ Kinder Low
1983  Δ Scafell PikeΔ High StileΔ Kinder LowΔ Howden EdgeΔ WhernsideΔ Win HillΔ Uluru   
1984  Δ WhernsideΔ Great WhernsideΔ VictoriaΔ Bleaklow HeadΔ HelvellynΔ FairfieldΔ Worcestershire BeaconΔ Great Whernside Δ Scafell Pike
1985Δ Bleaklow HeadΔ Cairn Gorm Δ Pen y FanΔ Glyder FawrΔ Binnein MorΔ GrasmoorΔ ScafellΔ Sgurr a'Mhaim  Δ Carnedd Llewelyn
1986 Δ Ben MoreΔ Cruach Ardrain Δ SnowdonΔ Ben Lui Δ Ben CruachanΔ Stanage EdgeΔ Kinder Scout  
1987 Δ Stob Coire EasainΔ Sgor Gaoith Δ Ben StaravΔ Binnein Mor South TopΔ Ben AlderΔ Ben Lawers Δ Birks Fell  
1988 Δ Ben ChallumΔ Ben MacduiΔ GleouraichΔ Carn EigeΔ Bleaklow HeadΔ Glas TulaicheanΔ Beinn Mheadhoin Δ IngleboroughΔ Sharp Haw 
1989 Δ Sgurr a'Bhealaich DheirgΔ A'Ghlas-bheinnΔ Derry CairngormΔ Sgurr AlasdairΔ BraeriachΔ Beinn a'ChlachairΔ Sgurr Fhuaran  Δ Pen-y-ghent 
1990  Δ An CaistealΔ Beinn MhanachΔ Sgurr nan ConbhaireanΔ An TeallachΔ Sgurr MórΔ Lochnagar    
1991 Δ Sgurr nan CeathreamhnanΔ Sgurr nan Clach GealaΔ Ladhar BheinnΔ Beinn a'BhuirdΔ Meall BuidheΔ Aonach BeagΔ Ben Macdui Δ Washington  
1992 Δ Beinn A' Ghlo Δ WhernsideΔ Bidean Nam Bian Δ Ben Alder Δ Harrison StickleΔ IngleboroughΔ HumphreysΔ Stanage Edge
1993Δ Beinn a'ChreachainΔ Carn na CaimΔ Sgurr MorΔ Sgurr a'ChaorachainΔ Sgurr AlasdairΔ Carn Eige Δ Sgurr Choinnich Mor Δ Ben Nevis  
1994 Δ Stuchd an Lochain Δ Beinn a'ChochuillΔ Beinn Dorain Δ Blencathra   Δ Ben Cruachan 
1995 Δ Carn Mairg Δ Stob Choire ClaurighΔ Carn a'GheoidhΔ Beinn DeargΔ Chevin  Δ Ditchling Beacon  
1996 Δ Sgor Gaoith Δ Beinn a'ChaorainnΔ Aonach Beag Δ Sgurr na LapaichΔ Elbrus-E Pk Δ High Rigg  
1997Δ Creag MeagaidhΔ Stob Poite Coire Ardair  Δ Ben Cruachan    Δ Ben More  
1998Δ Cairn of Claise  Δ Bidean Nam BianΔ Sgor an Lochain Uaine  Δ Cairn Gorm  Δ GuadalupeΔ Worcestershire Beacon
1999Δ Ben Challum  Δ Stob Coire Easain Δ Sgurr a'Choire Ghlais      
2000Δ Conachcraig Δ Stob GhabharΔ WheelerΔ Beinn ImeΔ Garbh Chioch MhorΔ Beinn EunaichΔ Pen-y-ghent    
2001 Δ Ingleborough  Δ Ben AttowΔ Urra Moor-Round HillΔ Binnein MorΔ Elbert   Δ Whernside
2002     Δ Ben Macdui-North TopΔ BowfellΔ Harrison Stickle  Δ Sron a'Choire Ghairbh 
2003 Δ Aonach MorΔ Buckden PikeΔ Broad Law Δ Meall a'BhuachailleΔ SkiddawΔ Schiehallion    
2004Δ Sgor na h-Ulaidh  Δ Ben LomondΔ Cairn GormΔ Geal-charn MorΔ Geal Charn     
2005Δ Bredon Hill Δ Carn Dearg Δ Ben HopeΔ Sgurr a'Mhaoraich Δ HelvellynΔ Sharp Haw  Δ Great Whernside
2006 Δ Driesh  Δ MerrickΔ Carn an Fhreiceadain  Δ Lochnagar   
2007 Δ Beinn Fhionnlaidh Δ Scafell PikeΔ Ben Nevis Δ Meall nan TarmachanΔ Snowdon Δ Arthur's Seat  
2008 Δ Aonach Beag  Δ Gleouraich   Δ Almscliff Crag   
2009 Δ Sgurr Fhuar-thuillΔ Birks FellΔ Ben LawersΔ Aonach Beag Δ Mitchell Δ Slieve Donard  Δ Red Screes
2010Δ Stob BanΔ Cross FellΔ Mickle FellΔ Beinn HeasgarnichΔ Cairn BannochΔ Black HillΔ Ben StaravΔ Ben LuiΔ Sgurr a'MhaimΔ Gebel Mûsa  
2011Δ High RaiseΔ Carn Bhac Δ Mam Sodhail Δ Sgurr na CicheΔ BorahΔ Beinn a'Bhuird Δ Nine Standards RiggΔ Sgor GaibhreΔ Pen-y-ghent
2012 Δ Sgurr FhuaranΔ Glas TulaicheanΔ Sgurr nan Conbhairean Δ Ben Macdui Δ Sgurr nan Ceathreamhnan Δ Ladhar Bheinn Δ Lindley Moor
2013 Δ Mullach Coire Mhic Fhearchair Δ Ben More AssyntΔ Ben Klibreck-Meall nan ConΔ Sgurr MórΔ MassiveΔ Rainier  Δ Stob Coir'an Albannaich 
2014 Δ KilimanjaroΔ Aonach air ChrithΔ Saddle Δ An Sgarsoch Δ GiluweΔ WhernsideΔ WhernsideΔ OrizabaΔ Ojos del Salado
2015  Δ Meall an t-Seallaidh Δ Great Shunner FellΔ Beinn Odhar BheagΔ CheviotΔ DamavandΔ CalfΔ Place FellΔ Harter Fell 
2016Δ Beinn BheulaΔ WhernsideΔ Blake FellΔ Ben VaneΔ Ben NevisΔ WhernsideΔ ElbrusΔ Hail Storm HillΔ IngleboroughΔ Sgurr na CicheΔ Leum UilleimΔ Chevin
2017Δ SidleyΔ Mam TorΔ CorserineΔ Lovely SeatΔ Shillhope LawΔ Jebel ToubkalΔ Blanc-XΔ Le Nid d'AigleΔ Seana Bhraigh Δ Fair Snape FellΔ Ward's Stone
2018Δ TaranakiΔ RuapehuΔ Cam Chreag Δ Sgurr nan EugalltΔ High WillhaysΔ Illgill HeadΔ Cringle MoorΔ TeideΔ Moel SiabodΔ TajumulcoΔ Bennan
2019Δ Wisp HillΔ Windlestraw LawΔ Arenig FawrΔ Green LowtherΔ Culter FellΔ WhernsideΔ BlancΔ RoundΔ Brumlow TopΔ ShutlingsloeΔ Cairnsmore of FleetΔ Knock Pike
2020Δ Broughton Heights Δ Blackstone EdgeΔ Almscliff CragΔ High SeatΔ SkiddawΔ Ettrick PenΔ Hohe AchtΔ Ward Law   


Legend for Color Coding

6,000 meters or more
4,000 to 5,999 meters
3,000 to 3,999 meters
1,500 to 2,999 meters
600 to 1,499 meters
Below 600 meters

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service