Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using U.S. Units (Feet)

Northeast "115" 4000-footers - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankPeak Elev-M  Prom-M TotalRound 1
1.Mount Washington19171874  
6.Mount Marcy16291498  
45.Mount Mansfield13391107  
8.Mount Lafayette15971012  
63.Killington Peak12911010  
67.Slide Mountain12741000  
60.Sugarloaf Mountain1292966  
14.Whiteface Mountain1483943  
28.Giant Mountain1410900  
20.Mount Moosilauke1464894  
75.Bigelow Mountain1263867  
16.Carter Dome1473860  
19.Dix Mountain1470850  
69.Old Speck1268823  
69.Mount Cabot1268811  
78.Saddleback Mountain1256746  
29.Santanoni Peak1404734  
49.South Kinsman Mountain1328731  
27.Mount Carrigain1426678  
96.Hunter Mountain1231652  
84.Mount Ellen1244650  
9.Algonquin Peak1559639  
51.Seward Mountain1320616  
53.Mount Osceola1317610  
85.Camels Hump1244567  
106.Mount Tecumseh1220525  
53.Mount Field1317512  
13.South Twin1494458  
69.North Tripyramid1268402  
104.Mount Waumbek1221393  
74.North Brother1265383  
76.Street Mountain1260380  
64.Crocker Mountain1288368  
44.Mount Hancock1341366  
81.Cascade Mountain1249359  
66.Big Slide Mountain1280320  
40.Wildcat Mountain1348315  
82.Seymour Mountain1247307  
93.Mount Moriah1234281  
96.Mount Abraham1231268  
25.Mount Colden1437267  
2.Mount Adams1768262  
11.Mount Haystack1512252  
102.Owls Head1227251  
94.Mount Passaconaway1232245  
36.Mount Garfield1366244  
3.Mount Jefferson1741229  
17.Basin Mountain1471221  
85.Cannon Mountain1244219  
31.Middle Carter Mountain1402213  
100.Mount Colvin1230210  
68.Lower Wolfjaw Mountain1272202  
50.Allen Mountain1325195  
46.Rocky Peak Ridge1338188  
90.Mount Hale1236187  
109.Spaulding Mountain1219178  
12.Mount Skylight1501176  
47.Macomb Mountain1332172  
109.Mount Whiteface1219171  
112.Blake Peak1210170  
23.Hamlin Peak1450151  
48.Mount Marshall1330150  
113.Cliff Mountain1202142  
5.Mount Madison1636142  
95.Saddleback Mountain-The Horn1232141  
109.Mount Redington1219134  
42.Table Top Mountain1345125  
52.Mount Flume1319124  
37.Mount Liberty1359116  
43.Hough Peak1344114  
34.Saddleback Mountain1380110  
96.South Crocker Mountain1231104  
22.Mount Eisenhower1451102  
91.Mount Jackson1235101  
92.Mount Tom1235101  
101.Grace Mountain122797  
73.Mount Osceola-East Peak126796  
62.Esther Mountain129292  
26.Mount Bond143291  
87.Porter Mountain124090  
89.Wildcat D123887  
104.Mount Abraham122187  
21.North Twin145186  
38.Panther Peak135484  
83.Avery Peak124682  
65.Upper Wolfjaw Mountain128181  
103.Galehead Mountain122780  
33.Wright Peak139878  
59.Mount Willey129778  
4.Mount Monroe163777  
57.North Kinsman Mountain130977  
115.Couchsachraga Peak115676  
29.Mount Redfield140474  
78.Middle Tripyramid125673  
56.Mount Pierce131470  
41.South Carter Mountain134767  
106.Mount Isolation122062  
60.Zealand Mountain129261  
69.Phelps Mountain126858  
10.Mount Lincoln155152  
87.South Dix124050  
106.Dial Mountain122050  
35.West Bond137849  
55.South Hancock131648  
15.Iroquois Peak147646  
80.Donaldson Mountain125242  
99.Mount Emmons123131  
17.Gray Peak147131  
39.Armstrong Mountain135030  
114.Nye Mountain117020  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Matt Varney, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

This list combines the Appalachian Mountain Club's New England 4000-footer list, the Adirondack 46er list, and the two Catskill 4000-foot summits to create what is, in theory, a master list of Northeast USA 4000-foot peaks.

But this list is really an aesthetic disaster. The AMC lists have changed over time to reflect new survey elevations, and at one point this list was called the "Northeast 111" prior to the promotion of 4 summits in ME and NH to 4000-footer status over the past couple decades. And despite the goal of the AMC to use a strict prominence cutoff, there remain at least two inconsistencies with the contour maps. However, the AMC lists are nothing like the infamous 46er list, which has not changed since the 1930s and remains stuck in a time warp, despite many changes in peak elevations. So the "Northeast 115" list is a mixture of apples and oranges.

However, this list does combine two very popular and historically significant lists into one, and it remains a well-known yardstick for serious Northeastern peakbaggers.

Using a strict, consistent, contour-map based prominence cutoff for peaks, this list of Northeast 4000-footers shows 109 peaks. 68 are in New England, matching closely the 67 on the AMC list (the AMC does not include the Mansfield Nose or Guyot, but does include South Hancock). But only 39 of the 46ers are now over 4000 feet and have 160 feet of clean prominence based on the latest maps.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Matt Varney   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1120981 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service