Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Northeast "115" 4000-footers - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
1.Esther Mountain4239302  
2.Whiteface Mountain48653094  
3.Seward Mountain43312021  
4.Seymour Mountain40911007  
5.Donaldson Mountain4108138  
6.Mount Emmons4039102  
7.Panther Peak4442276  
8.Couchsachraga Peak3793249  
9.Santanoni Peak46062408  
10.Nye Mountain383966  
11.Street Mountain41341247  
12.Wright Peak4587256  
13.Algonquin Peak51152096  
14.Iroquois Peak4843151  
15.Mount Marshall4364492  
16.Cascade Mountain40981178  
17.Porter Mountain4068295  
18.Big Slide Mountain41991050  
19.Phelps Mountain4160190  
20.Table Top Mountain4413410  
21.Mount Colden4715876  
22.Mount Marcy53444914  
23.Gray Peak4826102  
24.Mount Haystack4961827  
25.Cliff Mountain3944466  
26.Mount Skylight4925577  
27.Mount Redfield4606243  
28.Allen Mountain4347640  
29.Lower Wolfjaw Mountain4173663  
30.Upper Wolfjaw Mountain4203266  
31.Armstrong Mountain442998  
33.Saddleback Mountain4528361  
34.Basin Mountain4826725  
36.Dial Mountain4003164  
37.Mount Colvin4035689  
39.Blake Peak3970558  
40.Dix Mountain48232789  
41.Hough Peak4409374  
42.Grace Mountain4026318  
43.South Dix4068164  
44.Macomb Mountain4370564  
45.Giant Mountain46262953  
46.Rocky Peak Ridge4390617  
47.North Brother41511256  
48.Hamlin Peak4756496  
50.Crocker Mountain42261206  
51.South Crocker Mountain4040340  
52.Sugarloaf Mountain42403168  
53.Mount Redington4000440  
54.Spaulding Mountain4000585  
55.Mount Abraham4040880  
56.Saddleback Mountain-The Horn4041461  
57.Saddleback Mountain41202446  
58.Bigelow Mountain41452845  
59.Avery Peak4088268  
60.Mount Cabot41602661  
61.Mount Waumbek40061289  
62.Old Speck41602700  
63.Cannon Mountain4080720  
64.North Kinsman Mountain4293253  
65.South Kinsman Mountain43582398  
66.Mount Moosilauke48022932  
67.Mount Garfield4480800  
68.Mount Lafayette52403320  
69.Mount Lincoln5089169  
70.Owls Head4025825  
71.Mount Liberty4459379  
72.Mount Flume4328408  
73.Mount Hale4054614  
74.North Twin4761281  
75.South Twin49021502  
76.Galehead Mountain4024264  
77.Zealand Mountain4240200  
78.Mount Bond4698298  
79.West Bond4520160  
81.Mount Tom4051331  
82.Mount Field43201681  
83.Mount Willey4255255  
84.Mount Carrigain46802223  
85.Mount Hancock44001200  
86.South Hancock4319159  
87.Mount Madison5366466  
88.Mount Adams5799861  
89.Mount Jefferson5712753  
90.Mount Washington62886148  
91.Mount Monroe5372254  
92.Mount Eisenhower4760335  
93.Mount Pierce4310230  
94.Mount Jackson4052332  
95.Mount Isolation4003203  
96.Mount Moriah4049922  
97.Middle Carter Mountain4600700  
98.South Carter Mountain4420220  
99.Carter Dome48322821  
100.Wildcat Mountain44221034  
101.Wildcat D4062287  
102.Mount Osceola-East Peak4156316  
103.Mount Osceola43202000  
104.Mount Tecumseh40031723  
105.North Tripyramid41601320  
106.Middle Tripyramid4120240  
107.Mount Passaconaway4043803  
108.Mount Whiteface4000560  
109.Mount Mansfield43933633  
110.Camels Hump40801860  
111.Mount Ellen40832132  
112.Mount Abraham4006286  
113.Killington Peak42353315  
114.Hunter Mountain40402140  
115.Slide Mountain41803280  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Matt Varney, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

This list combines the Appalachian Mountain Club's New England 4000-footer list, the Adirondack 46er list, and the two Catskill 4000-foot summits to create what is, in theory, a master list of Northeast USA 4000-foot peaks.

But this list is really an aesthetic disaster. The AMC lists have changed over time to reflect new survey elevations, and at one point this list was called the "Northeast 111" prior to the promotion of 4 summits in ME and NH to 4000-footer status over the past couple decades. And despite the goal of the AMC to use a strict prominence cutoff, there remain at least two inconsistencies with the contour maps. However, the AMC lists are nothing like the infamous 46er list, which has not changed since the 1930s and remains stuck in a time warp, despite many changes in peak elevations. So the "Northeast 115" list is a mixture of apples and oranges.

However, this list does combine two very popular and historically significant lists into one, and it remains a well-known yardstick for serious Northeastern peakbaggers.

Using a strict, consistent, contour-map based prominence cutoff for peaks, this list of Northeast 4000-footers shows 109 peaks. 68 are in New England, matching closely the 67 on the AMC list (the AMC does not include the Mansfield Nose or Guyot, but does include South Hancock). But only 39 of the 46ers are now over 4000 feet and have 160 feet of clean prominence based on the latest maps.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Matt Varney   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1113451 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service