Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Tennessee County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.SevierClingmans Dome66434513  
2.CockeOld Black6370190  
3.CarterRoan High Knob62853505  
4.BlountThunderhead Mountain55271107  
5.JohnsonSnake Mountain-North Peak551858  
6.UnicoiBig Bald55162576  
7.MonroeHaw Knob5472212  
8.GreeneGravel Knob4852352  
9.SullivanHolston High Point43001630  
10.PolkBig Frog Mountain42202520  
11.JeffersonEnglish Mountain36292312  
12.WashingtonPinnacle Mountain35401570  
13.AndersonCross Mountain35342104  
13.CampbellCross Mountain35342104  
15.MorganBig Fodderstack33501000  
16.ScottBurge Mountain3270400  
17.ClaiborneBryson Mountain31291499  
18.HawkinsChimneytop-Southwest Peak31181748  
19.CumberlandHinch Mountain30481598  
20.BledsoeHolloway Ridge2690260  
21.HancockNewman Ridge2630960  
22.GraingerClinch Mountain-Grainger County HP2530500  
23.MarionLockhart Lookout Tower-South Summit239020  
23.SequatchieSequatchie County High Point2390460  
25.GrundyLockhart Lookout Tower238212  
26.McMinnStarr Mountain2350480  
27.UnionSignal Point2310580  
28.HamiltonLookout Mountain2146381  
29.Van burenSmartt Mountain2142272  
30.CannonShort Mountain20921007  
31.KnoxHouse Mountain20901020  
32.PutnamPutnam County High Point207020  
33.RheaWalden Ridge-Rhea County HP205020  
34.FranklinSewanee Benchmark2039109  
35.RoaneMount Roosevelt2036586  
36.OvertonHampton Mountain2030140  
36.CoffeeCoffee County High Point203040  
38.WhiteWhite County High Point2009159  
39.WarrenWarren County High Point199060  
40.HamblenCrockett Ridge1952742  
41.FentressFentress County High Point187020  
42.PickettGolman Mountain1786676  
43.LincolnLincoln County High Point151080  
44.BradleyWhite Oak Mountain-Ooltewah Lookout1495625  
45.ClayPilot Knob1410480  
46.WilsonMount Defiance Southwest1363493  
47.RutherfordRutherford County High Point1360150  
48.BedfordLocust Knob West1340115  
49.DeKalbDekalb County High Point1330120  
50.LoudonAlexander Knob1313343  
51.MeigsMcMinn Ridge1296406  
52.MarshallTwitty Knob East1290128  
53.MooreChestnut Ridge127080  
54.WilliamsonWilliamson County High Point1256471  
55.SmithWalnut Knob1248498  
56.MauryFlanigan Hill1170220  
56.GilesFlanigan Hill1170220  
58.DavidsonDavidson County High Point1165430  
59.JacksonTick Ridge113080  
60.LawrenceLawrence County High Point111060  
60.MaconMacon County High Point1110160  
62.TrousdaleTrousdale County High Point1100370  
63.SumnerSumner County High Point1085175  
64.WayneWayne County High Point1080135  
65.LewisLewis County High Point10600  
66.HickmanBon Aqua Lookout Tower99080  
66.PerryPerry County High Point99080  
68.DicksonDickson County High Point970180  
69.RobertsonRobertson County High Point92030  
70.CheathamSullivan Ridge West910280  
71.HumphreysDickhum Benchmark Area88010  
72.HoustonHouston County High Point86050  
73.HardinHardin County High Point84030  
74.MontgomeryMontgomery County High Point80636  
75.StewartStewart County High Point76070  
76.ChesterSand Mountain750260  
77.CarrollMaple Creek Lookout710200  
77.HendersonHenderson County High Point710140  
79.DecaturMount Carmel West700190  
80.BentonRound Top690127  
80.McNairyMount Peter690140  
82.HardemanHickory Benchmark68898  
83.FayetteGordon Hill677107  
84.MadisonMadison County High Point670180  
85.HenryHenry County High Point650185  
86.WeakleyWeakley County High Point60580  
87.GibsonGibson County High Point57065  
88.ObionObion County High Point551186  
89.LauderdaleLauderdale County High Point525190  
90.DyerDyer County High Point515190  
91.HaywoodHaywood County High Point50515  
92.CrockettCrockett County High Point48570  
93.TiptonTipton County High Point450105  
94.ShelbyShelby County High Point43015  
95.LakeLake County High Point32237  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Sam Wilkinson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Tennessee, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Sam Wilkinson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1073020 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service