Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count duplicate peak ascents on a dayShow List using Metric Units

South Dakota County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
43.AuroraAurora County High Point2001222  
64.SpinkBald Mountain1480155  
50.BeadleBeadle County High Point188050  
9.BennettBennett County High Point3638103  
32.BruleBijou Hills2100270  
1.PenningtonBlack Elk Peak72312911  
47.Bon HommeBon Homme County High Point1900353  
44.BrookingsBrookings County High Point199015  
62.BrownBrown County High Point152528  
29.CampbellCampbell County High Point2130405  
30.Charles MixCharles Mix County High Point2128441  
46.ClarkClark County High Point1930160  
63.ClayClay County High Point1500150  
2.LawrenceCrooks Tower7137517  
58.DavisonDavison County High Point1695111  
39.DayDay County High Point20400  
39.DeuelDeuel County High Point2040170  
54.DouglasDouglas County High Point18000  
42.BuffaloEden Benchmark202040  
31.EdmundsEdmunds County High Point211050  
36.GrantGrant County High Point206090  
21.GregoryGregory County High Point236070  
13.HaakonHaakon County High Point2830155  
45.HamlinHamlin County High Point19505  
65.HansonHanson County High Point14258  
7.HardingHarding Peak4019619  
38.HughesHughes County High Point205045  
47.HutchinsonHutchinson County High Point190015  
25.HydeHyde County High Point2200490  
10.JacksonJackson County High Point347817  
36.JerauldJerauld County High Point2060260  
49.KingsburyKingsbury County High Point189085  
51.LakeLake County High Point1870178  
19.DeweyLantry Benchmark246146  
60.LincolnLincoln County High Point1565250  
34.MarshallMarshall County High Point2080120  
51.McCookMcCook County High Point1870125  
27.McPhersonMcPherson County High Point218060  
4.MeadeMeade County High Point5460160  
22.LymanMedicine Benchmark2262497  
14.MelletteMellette County High Point282040  
54.MinerMiner County High Point180085  
53.MinnehahaMinnehaha County High Point182055  
56.MoodyMoody County High Point178050  
8.Oglala LakotaOglala Lakota County High Point3718303  
5.Fall RiverParker Peak4848683  
12.PerkinsPerkins County High Point316691  
24.PotterPotter County High Point2220315  
34.CodingtonPunished Womans Mound2080160  
28.RobertsRoberts County High Point2135838  
26.HandRocky Benchmark2197232  
66.SanbornSanborn County High Point13700  
20.StanleyStanley County High Point2382209  
33.SullySully Buttes2083226  
3.CusterSylvan Hill7000763  
6.ButteThe Brakes4040240  
16.CorsonThunder Hawk Butte2710110  
11.ToddTodd County High Point33090  
17.TrippTripp County High Point264494  
57.TurnerTurner County High Point1740298  
61.UnionUnion County High Point154050  
23.WalworthWalworth County High Point2230385  
41.FaulkWaters Hill2035180  
18.JonesWhite Clay Butte2516231  
59.YanktonYankton County High Point168050  
15.ZiebachZiebach County High Point2730202  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Cory Sytsma, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in South Dakota, then you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1994 by David Olson, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for peaks provided by Tom Dunigan via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Cory Sytsma   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 632218 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service