Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

South Dakota County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.AuroraAurora County High Point2001222  
2.BeadleBeadle County High Point188560  
3.BennettBennett County High Point3638103  
4.Bon HommeBon Homme County High Point1905358  
5.BrookingsBrookings County High Point199015  
6.BrownBrown County High Point152831  
7.BruleBijou Hills2105280  
8.BuffaloEden Benchmark202550  
9.ButteThe Brakes4050260  
10.CampbellCampbell County High Point2135410  
11.Charles MixCharles Mix County High Point2128441  
12.ClarkClark County High Point1930165  
13.ClayClay County High Point1505160  
14.CodingtonPunished Womans Mound2085170  
15.CorsonThunder Hawk Butte2710115  
16.CusterSylvan Hill7000782  
17.DavisonDavison County High Point1695111  
18.DayDay County High Point204510  
19.DeuelDeuel County High Point2045180  
20.DeweyLantry Benchmark246146  
21.DouglasDouglas County High Point18000  
22.EdmundsEdmunds County High Point211560  
23.Fall RiverParker Peak4848683  
24.FaulkWaters Hill2035180  
25.GrantGrant County High Point2065100  
26.GregoryGregory County High Point236580  
27.HaakonHaakon County High Point2835160  
28.HamlinHamlin County High Point19505  
29.HandRocky Benchmark2197232  
30.HansonHanson County High Point142811  
31.HardingHarding Peak4019629  
32.HughesHughes County High Point205045  
33.HutchinsonHutchinson County High Point190520  
34.HydeHyde County High Point2205500  
35.JacksonJackson County High Point347817  
36.JerauldJerauld County High Point2060265  
37.JonesWhite Clay Butte2516231  
38.KingsburyKingsbury County High Point189085  
39.LakeLake County High Point1870178  
40.LawrenceCrooks Tower7137527  
41.LincolnLincoln County High Point1565250  
42.LymanMedicine Benchmark2262497  
43.McCookMcCook County High Point1870125  
44.McPhersonMcPherson County High Point218570  
45.MarshallMarshall County High Point2085130  
46.MeadeMeade County High Point5470180  
47.MelletteMellette County High Point283060  
48.MinerMiner County High Point180590  
49.MinnehahaMinnehaha County High Point182560  
50.MoodyMoody County High Point178560  
51.PenningtonBlack Elk Peak72312921  
52.PerkinsPerkins County High Point3176101  
53.PotterPotter County High Point2225320  
54.RobertsRoberts County High Point2135838  
55.SanbornSanborn County High Point137510  
56.Oglala LakotaOglala Lakota County High Point3718303  
57.SpinkBald Mountain1480155  
58.StanleyStanley County High Point2382209  
59.SullySully Buttes2083226  
60.ToddTodd County High Point33090  
61.TrippTripp County High Point264494  
62.TurnerTurner County High Point1745303  
63.UnionUnion County High Point154560  
64.WalworthWalworth County High Point2235390  
65.YanktonYankton County High Point168055  
66.ZiebachZiebach County High Point2730202  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Cory Sytsma, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in South Dakota, then you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1994 by David Olson, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for peaks provided by Tom Dunigan via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Cory Sytsma   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 632217 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service