Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

South Dakota County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.HardingHarding Peak4019629  
2.SpinkBald Mountain1480155  
3.MarshallMarshall County High Point2085130  
4.RobertsRoberts County High Point2135838  
5.CodingtonPunished Womans Mound2085170  
6.MeadeMeade County High Point5470180  
7.LawrenceCrooks Tower7137527  
8.PenningtonBlack Elk Peak72312921  
9.CusterSylvan Hill7000782  
10.Fall RiverParker Peak4848683  
11.JonesWhite Clay Butte2516231  
12.AuroraAurora County High Point2001222  
13.BeadleBeadle County High Point188560  
14.BennettBennett County High Point3638103  
15.Bon HommeBon Homme County High Point1905358  
16.BrookingsBrookings County High Point199015  
17.BrownBrown County High Point152831  
18.BruleBijou Hills2105280  
19.BuffaloEden Benchmark202550  
20.CampbellCampbell County High Point2135410  
21.Charles MixCharles Mix County High Point2128441  
22.ClarkClark County High Point1930165  
23.ClayClay County High Point1505160  
24.CorsonThunder Hawk Butte2710115  
25.DavisonDavison County High Point1695111  
26.DayDay County High Point204510  
27.DeuelDeuel County High Point2045180  
28.DeweyLantry Benchmark246146  
29.DouglasDouglas County High Point18000  
30.EdmundsEdmunds County High Point211560  
31.FaulkWaters Hill2035180  
32.GrantGrant County High Point2065100  
33.GregoryGregory County High Point236580  
34.HaakonHaakon County High Point2835160  
35.HamlinHamlin County High Point19505  
36.HandRocky Benchmark2197232  
37.HansonHanson County High Point142811  
38.HughesHughes County High Point205045  
39.HutchinsonHutchinson County High Point190520  
40.HydeHyde County High Point2205500  
41.JacksonJackson County High Point347817  
42.JerauldJerauld County High Point2060265  
43.KingsburyKingsbury County High Point189085  
44.LakeLake County High Point1870178  
45.LincolnLincoln County High Point1565250  
46.LymanMedicine Benchmark2262497  
47.McCookMcCook County High Point1870125  
48.McPhersonMcPherson County High Point218570  
49.MelletteMellette County High Point283060  
50.MinerMiner County High Point180590  
51.MinnehahaMinnehaha County High Point182560  
52.MoodyMoody County High Point178560  
53.PerkinsPerkins County High Point3176101  
54.PotterPotter County High Point2225320  
55.SanbornSanborn County High Point137510  
56.Oglala LakotaOglala Lakota County High Point3718303  
57.StanleyStanley County High Point2382209  
58.SullySully Buttes2083226  
59.ToddTodd County High Point33090  
60.TrippTripp County High Point264494  
61.TurnerTurner County High Point1745303  
62.UnionUnion County High Point154560  
63.WalworthWalworth County High Point2235390  
64.YanktonYankton County High Point168055  
65.ButteThe Brakes4050260  
66.ZiebachZiebach County High Point2730202  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Cory Sytsma, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in South Dakota, then you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1994 by David Olson, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for peaks provided by Tom Dunigan via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Cory Sytsma   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 632213 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service