Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic All Ascent DatesCount a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Minnesota County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
1.LincolnLincoln County High Point1994224  
2.PipestonePipestone County High Point1990230  
3.MurrayBuffalo Ridge192090  
4.NoblesNobles County High Point18100  
5.KoochichingKoochiching County High Point1520140  
6.BeltramiBeltrami County High Point1510133  
7.ClearwaterHeight of Land Lookout2005675  
8.NormanFrenchmans Bluff135494  
9.BeckerWolf Lake Lookout1860310  
10.ToddMount Nebo151181  
11.RamseyRamsey County High Point1100210  
12.HennepinHennepin County High Point1120170  
13.DakotaBuck Hill1195215  
14.ScottElko Benchmark1230207  
15.GoodhueGoodhue County High Point127020  
16.MowerMower County High Point1440110  
17.FaribaultFaribault County High Point1440200  
18.FreebornFreeborn County High Point140020  
19.CookEagle Mountain23011321  
20.LakeStony Tower Hill2080380  
21.Saint LouisPike Mountain1950520  
22.ItascaBig Thunder Peak1752442  
23.AitkinQuadna Mountain1590300  
24.CarltonCarlton County High Point1450120  
25.PinePine County High Point136095  
26.PolkPolk County High Point157060  
27.HubbardHubbard County High Point1840120  
28.MahnomenMahnomen County High Point18200  
29.Red LakeRed Lake County High Point12103  
30.KittsonKittson County High Point10820  
31.MarshallMarshall County High Point12353  
32.RoseauRoseau County High Point127013  
33.Lake of the WoodsLake of the Woods County High Point1315123  
34.Crow WingCrow Wing County High Point149050  
35.Mille LacsMille Lacs County High Point1370110  
36.KanabecKanabec County High Point132030  
37.ChisagoChisago County High Point1130220  
38.IsantiBarrett Benchmark1111141  
39.AnokaAnoka County High Point110030  
40.BentonBenton County High Point131040  
41.Big StoneBig Stone County High Point120033  
42.Blue EarthBlue Earth County High Point1190160  
43.BrownBrown County High Point12630  
44.CarverCarver County High Point1080110  
45.ChippewaChippewa County High Point112010  
46.ClayClay County High Point1540170  
47.CottonwoodCottonwood County High Point1570160  
48.DodgeDodge County High Point138181  
49.DouglasBear Knob1620150  
50.FillmoreFillmore County High Point140050  
51.GrantGrant County High Point140070  
52.HoustonHouston County High Point1340220  
53.JacksonJackson County High Point157030  
54.KandiyohiKandiyohi County High Point1410180  
55.Lac Qui ParleLac Qui Parle County High Point14101  
56.Le SueurLe Sueur County High Point119050  
57.LyonLyon County High Point174020  
58.McLeodMcLeod County High Point114060  
59.MartinMartin County High Point141020  
60.MeekerMeeker County High Point126070  
61.MorrisonMorrison County High Point1520190  
62.NicolletNicollet County High Point106030  
63.OlmstedOlmsted County High Point1380168  
64.Otter TailOtter Tail County High Point1790460  
65.PenningtonPennington County High Point11853  
66.PopePope County High Point146050  
67.RedwoodRedwood County High Point14500  
68.RenvilleRenville County High Point114530  
69.RiceRice County High Point127030  
70.RockHardwick Benchmark179050  
71.SherburneSherburne County High Point111080  
72.SibleySibley County High Point109010  
73.StearnsStearns County High Point1460280  
74.SteeleSteele County High Point135073  
75.StevensStevens County High Point127040  
76.SwiftSwift County High Point130040  
77.TraverseLayden Benchmark120083  
78.WabashaGreenfield Hill1240120  
79.WadenaWadena County High Point152060  
80.WasecaWaseca County High Point129010  
81.WashingtonWashington County High Point1104184  
82.WatonwanWatonwan County High Point130010  
83.WilkinWilkin County High Point12520  
84.WinonaWinona County High Point1365185  
85.WrightFrench Benchmark1223163  
86.Yellow MedicineYellow Medicine County High Point174020  
87.CassCass-Chippewa High Point1630   

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Matt Varney, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Minnesota, then you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1996 by David Olson, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for peaks provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Matt Varney   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1445669 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service