Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Minnesota County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.CookEagle Mountain23011331  
2.LakeStony Tower Hill2080390  
3.ClearwaterHeight of Land Lookout2005680  
4.PipestonePipestone County High Point2000250  
5.LincolnLincoln County High Point1994234  
6.Saint LouisPike Mountain1960540  
7.MurrayBuffalo Ridge1930110  
8.BeckerWolf Lake Lookout1870330  
9.HubbardHubbard County High Point1850130  
10.MahnomenMahnomen County High Point183020  
11.NoblesNobles County High Point182020  
12.Otter TailOtter Tail County High Point1800480  
12.RockHardwick Benchmark180070  
14.ItascaBig Thunder Peak1752452  
15.LyonLyon County High Point174030  
15.Yellow MedicineYellow Medicine County High Point174030  
17.CassCass-Chippewa High Point1640   
18.DouglasBear Knob1630170  
19.AitkinQuadna Mountain1600320  
20.CottonwoodCottonwood County High Point1580180  
20.JacksonJackson County High Point158050  
20.PolkPolk County High Point158080  
23.ClayClay County High Point1550190  
24.MorrisonMorrison County High Point1540220  
25.KoochichingKoochiching County High Point1530160  
26.BeltramiBeltrami County High Point1520143  
26.WadenaWadena County High Point152070  
28.ToddMount Nebo151191  
29.Crow WingCrow Wing County High Point150070  
30.PopePope County High Point147070  
30.StearnsStearns County High Point1470300  
32.RedwoodRedwood County High Point146020  
33.CarltonCarlton County High Point1455130  
34.FaribaultFaribault County High Point1450220  
34.MowerMower County High Point1450130  
36.MartinMartin County High Point142030  
37.Lac Qui ParleLac Qui Parle County High Point14101  
37.FillmoreFillmore County High Point141070  
37.FreebornFreeborn County High Point141040  
37.GrantGrant County High Point141090  
37.KandiyohiKandiyohi County High Point1410190  
42.DodgeDodge County High Point138191  
43.Mille LacsMille Lacs County High Point1380130  
43.OlmstedOlmsted County High Point1380168  
45.PinePine County High Point1370110  
46.WinonaWinona County High Point1365205  
47.SteeleSteele County High Point136083  
47.HoustonHouston County High Point1360260  
49.NormanFrenchmans Bluff1354104  
50.KanabecKanabec County High Point133050  
51.BentonBenton County High Point132060  
51.Lake of the WoodsLake of the Woods County High Point1320128  
53.SwiftSwift County High Point131060  
53.WatonwanWatonwan County High Point131030  
55.WasecaWaseca County High Point129020  
56.StevensStevens County High Point128060  
56.GoodhueGoodhue County High Point128040  
58.RoseauRoseau County High Point127518  
59.RiceRice County High Point127040  
59.MeekerMeeker County High Point127090  
61.BrownBrown County High Point12630  
62.WabashaGreenfield Hill1260160  
63.WilkinWilkin County High Point12520  
64.MarshallMarshall County High Point12408  
64.ScottElko Benchmark1240217  
66.WrightFrench Benchmark1223173  
67.Red LakeRed Lake County High Point12158  
68.Big StoneBig Stone County High Point121043  
68.TraverseLayden Benchmark121093  
70.Blue EarthBlue Earth County High Point1200180  
70.Le SueurLe Sueur County High Point120070  
72.DakotaBuck Hill1195225  
73.PenningtonPennington County High Point11908  
74.McLeodMcLeod County High Point115080  
75.RenvilleRenville County High Point114530  
76.ChisagoChisago County High Point1140240  
77.HennepinHennepin County High Point1130190  
78.ChippewaChippewa County High Point112020  
78.SherburneSherburne County High Point1120100  
80.IsantiBarrett Benchmark1111151  
81.AnokaAnoka County High Point111050  
81.RamseyRamsey County High Point1110230  
83.WashingtonWashington County High Point1104194  
84.SibleySibley County High Point109020  
85.KittsonKittson County High Point10820  
86.CarverCarver County High Point1080120  
87.NicolletNicollet County High Point107050  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Matt Varney, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Minnesota, then you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1996 by David Olson, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for peaks provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Matt Varney   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1442793 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service