Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Show List using Metric Units

High Points of Counties Crossed by the Continental Divide

Showing Greg Slayden's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (23 out of 53, or 43.4%)

RankCountyPeak Elev-Ft Range (Level 5)AscentsAscent Date
1.CO-LakeMount Elbert14,433Elbert-Massive-Fryingpan Area13971989-04-25 b
2.CO-Clear CreekGrays Peak14,270Central Front Range9401990-09-03 f
2.CO-SummitGrays Peak14,270Central Front Range9401990-09-03 f
4.CO-ChaffeeMount Harvard14,420Collegiate Peaks3251990-09-05
5.WY-TetonGrand Teton13,770Teton Range3571992-09-13
6.CO-BoulderLongs Peak14,255Rocky Mountain National Park Area6961994-07-12
7.WY-FremontGannett Peak13,804Northern Wind River Range2701994-08-01
7.WY-SubletteGannett Peak13,804Northern Wind River Range2701994-08-01
9.WY-CarbonMedicine Bow Peak-West Ridge11,920Medicine Bow Mountains741994-08-05 a
10.CO-ParkMount Lincoln14,286Mosquito Range6901997-07-27 c
11.MT-MadisonHilgard Peak11,316Madison Range232007-08-21
12.MT-FlatheadMount Stimson10,142Lewis Range352008-08-12
13.MT-GlacierMount Cleveland10,466Lewis Range732008-08-17
14.CO-SaguacheCrestone Peak14,294Northern Sangre de Cristo Range2052010-09-03 a
15.CO-San JuanVermilion Peak13,894West-Central San Juan Mountains682010-09-06
16.CO-GunnisonCastle Peak14,265Elk Mountains2602010-09-10
16.CO-PitkinCastle Peak14,265Elk Mountains2602010-09-10
18.CO-GrandPettingell Peak13,553Central Front Range1002010-09-11 a
19.MT-Lewis and ClarkRed Mountain9411Flathead Range372012-08-10
20.MT-RavalliTrapper Peak10,157Central Bitteroot Range1012013-07-11
21.MT-GallatinWilson Peak10,705Madison Range192015-08-14
22.MT-Silver BowTable Mountain10,223Highland Mountains452015-08-16 c
23.MT-JeffersonCrow Peak9414Elkhorn Mountains442016-08-10 b
 CO-HinsdaleUncompahgre Peak14,309North-Central San Juan Mountains318 
 CO-EagleMount of the Holy Cross14,005Northern Sawatch Range300 
 CO-MineralPhoenix Peak13,895La Garita Mountains51 
 CO-LarimerHagues Peak13,560Rocky Mountain National Park Area61 
 CO-ArchuletaSummit Peak13,300Southern San Juan Mountains45 
 CO-GilpinJames Peak13,294Central Front Range192 
 CO-Rio GrandeBennett Peak13,203Southern San Juan Mountains51 
 CO-ConejosConejos Peak13,172Southern San Juan Mountains47 
 WY-ParkFrancs Peak13,153Southern Absaroka Range42 
 NM-Rio ArribaTruchas Peak13,102Santa Fe Mountains80 
 CO-JacksonClark Peak12,951Medicine Bow Mountains52 
 CO-RouttMount Zirkel12,180Central Park Range57 
 ID-LemhiBell Mountain11,612Lemhi Range31 
 NM-CibolaMount Taylor11,301North San Mateo Mountains173 
 NM-SandovalRedondo Peak11,254Jemez Mountains26 
 ID-ClarkWebber Peak-East Peak11,200Beaverhead Mountains26 
 MT-BeaverheadTweedy Mountain11,154Pioneer Mountains30 
 NM-CatronWhitewater Baldy10,895Mogollon Mountains45 
 MT-Deer LodgeWest Goat Peak10,793Anaconda Range31 
 MT-GraniteWarren Peak10,463Anaconda Range19 
 ID-FremontNorth Targhee Peak10,400Lionshead-Henrys Lake Ranges17 
 MT-PowellMount Powell10,168Flint Creek Range33 
 NM-GrantMcKnight Mountain10,165Black Range43 
 NM-SierraMcKnight Mountain10,165Black Range43 
 WY-SweetwaterPine Mountain9550East Flaming Gorge Area45 
 MT-TetonRocky Mountain9392Rocky Mountain Front37 
 NM-McKinleyCerros de Alejandro9166North San Mateo Mountains27 
 NM-HidalgoAnimas Mountains High Point8565Animas Area17 
 MT-PonderaPondera County High Point8440Rocky Mountain Front6 
 NM-LunaCookes Peak8408West Las Cruces Ranges43 

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Multiple Ascents Grid: Click here for a grid showing all of Greg Slayden's ascents of peaks on this list (including up to 10 rounds of repeats).

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

Important: This list show the highest points of the counties that the Continental Divide traverses. Note that many of these summits are not on or near the divide; often it does not go over or near the highest point in a county.


     Continental Divide Counties


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Greg Slayden   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 598308 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service