Jump to Map of List PeaksShow List using Metric Units

High Points of Counties Crossed by the Continental Divide

RankCountyPeak Elev-Ft Range (Level 5)Ascents
1.CO-LakeMount Elbert14,433Elbert-Massive-Fryingpan Area1535
2.CO-ChaffeeMount Harvard14,420Collegiate Peaks366
3.CO-HinsdaleUncompahgre Peak14,309North-Central San Juan Mountains363
4.CO-SaguacheCrestone Peak14,294Northern Sangre de Cristo Range227
5.CO-ParkMount Lincoln14,286Mosquito Range788
6.CO-Clear CreekGrays Peak14,270Central Front Range1056
6.CO-SummitGrays Peak14,270Central Front Range1056
8.CO-GunnisonCastle Peak14,265Elk Mountains300
8.CO-PitkinCastle Peak14,265Elk Mountains300
10.CO-BoulderLongs Peak14,255Rocky Mountain National Park Area765
11.CO-EagleMount of the Holy Cross14,005Northern Sawatch Range340
12.CO-MineralPhoenix Peak13,895La Garita Mountains58
13.CO-San JuanVermilion Peak13,894West-Central San Juan Mountains76
14.WY-FremontGannett Peak13,804Northern Wind River Range294
14.WY-SubletteGannett Peak13,804Northern Wind River Range294
16.WY-TetonGrand Teton13,770Teton Range390
17.CO-LarimerHagues Peak13,560Rocky Mountain National Park Area66
18.CO-GrandPettingell Peak13,553Central Front Range119
19.CO-ArchuletaSummit Peak13,300Southern San Juan Mountains53
20.CO-GilpinJames Peak13,294Central Front Range213
21.CO-Rio GrandeBennett Peak13,203Southern San Juan Mountains54
22.CO-ConejosConejos Peak13,172Southern San Juan Mountains49
23.WY-ParkFrancs Peak13,153Southern Absaroka Range47
24.NM-Rio ArribaTruchas Peak13,102Santa Fe Mountains88
25.CO-JacksonClark Peak12,951Medicine Bow Mountains57
26.CO-RouttMount Zirkel12,180Central Park Range61
27.WY-CarbonMedicine Bow Peak-West Ridge11,920Medicine Bow Mountains82
28.ID-LemhiBell Mountain11,612Lemhi Range33
29.MT-MadisonHilgard Peak11,316Madison Range25
30.NM-CibolaMount Taylor11,301North San Mateo Mountains187
31.NM-SandovalRedondo Peak11,254Jemez Mountains29
32.ID-ClarkWebber Peak-East Peak11,200Beaverhead Mountains26
33.MT-BeaverheadTweedy Mountain11,154Pioneer Mountains32
34.NM-CatronWhitewater Baldy10,895Mogollon Mountains49
35.MT-Deer LodgeWest Goat Peak10,793Anaconda Range33
36.MT-GallatinWilson Peak10,705Madison Range21
37.MT-GlacierMount Cleveland10,466Lewis Range78
38.MT-GraniteWarren Peak10,463Anaconda Range21
39.ID-FremontNorth Targhee Peak10,400Lionshead-Henrys Lake Ranges18
40.MT-Silver BowTable Mountain10,223Highland Mountains46
41.MT-PowellMount Powell10,168Flint Creek Range34
42.NM-GrantMcKnight Mountain10,165Black Range47
42.NM-SierraMcKnight Mountain10,165Black Range47
44.MT-RavalliTrapper Peak10,157Central Bitteroot Range110
45.MT-FlatheadMount Stimson10,142Lewis Range35
46.WY-SweetwaterPine Mountain9550East Flaming Gorge Area46
47.MT-JeffersonCrow Peak9414Elkhorn Mountains45
48.MT-Lewis and ClarkRed Mountain9411Flathead Range37
49.MT-TetonRocky Mountain9392Rocky Mountain Front39
50.NM-McKinleyCerros de Alejandro9166North San Mateo Mountains28
51.NM-HidalgoAnimas Mountains High Point8565Animas Area19
52.MT-PonderaPondera County High Point8440Rocky Mountain Front6
53.NM-LunaCookes Peak8408West Las Cruces Ranges49

Front Runners List: Click to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

Important: This list show the highest points of the counties that the Continental Divide traverses. Note that many of these summits are not on or near the divide; often it does not go over or near the highest point in a county.


     Continental Divide Counties


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peak with Rank #1 on List;   = Other Peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 619831 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service