Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Show List using Metric Units

Washington Bulger List

Showing Bob Bolton's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (21 out of 100, or 21%)

RankPeak Elev-Ft Range (Level 5) Prom-Ft Ascent Date
1.Mount Rainier14,411Mount Rainier Area13,2461967-07-09
2.Dome Peak8920Central North Cascades30401975-08-09
3.Mount Adams12,276Mount Adams Area81161977-10-09 b
4.Mount Baker10,781Skagit Range88121984-06-10
5.Dragontail Peak8840Wenatchee Mountains17601984-09-01
5.Little Annapurna8440Wenatchee Mountains2801984-09-01
7.Mount Saint Helens8333Mount Saint Helens Area45731987-05-03
8.Sahale Peak8680Central North Cascades801989-07
9.Mount Stuart9415Wenatchee Mountains53541990-09-02
10.Cashmere Mountain8501Wenatchee Mountains15811991
11.Glacier Peak10,520Glacier Peak-North Stevens Pass Area74981994-07-24
12.Mount Maude9040Entiat Mountains8821997
13.Mount Shuksan9131Skagit Range44111997-06-08
14.North Gardner Mountain8956Methow Mountains39962000-07-15 a
15.Gardner Mountain8898Methow Mountains6982000-07-15 b
16.Seven Fingered Jack9100Entiat Mountains3802001-08
17.Mount Buckner9114Central North Cascades30342003-07-12
18.Bonanza Peak9511Central North Cascades37112004-07-15
19.Oval Peak8795Methow Mountains27312005-07-16
20.Remmel Mountain8685Okanogan Range43652009-09-27
21.Mount Spickard8979Skagit Range47792011-09-03
 Little Tahoma11,138Mount Rainier Area818 
 Mount Fernow9249Entiat Mountains2811 
 Goode Mountain9200Central North Cascades3808 
 Mount Logan9087Central North Cascades1487 
 Jack Mountain9066Hozameen Range4211 
 Black Peak8970Central North Cascades3450 
 Mount Redoubt8969Skagit Range1649 
 Copper Peak8964Entiat Mountains484 
 Boston Peak8894Central North Cascades854 
 Silver Star Mountain8876Methow Mountains2436 
 Eldorado Peak8868Central North Cascades2188 
 Forbidden Peak8815Central North Cascades1055 
 Mesahchie Peak8795Central North Cascades2235 
 Fortress Mountain8760Glacier Peak-North Stevens Pass Area1680 
 Mount Lago8745Okanogan Range3268 
 Robinson Mountain8726Okanogan Range1686 
 Colchuck Peak8705Wenatchee Mountains665 
 Star Peak8690Methow Mountains1170 
 Katsuk Peak8680Central North Cascades440 
 Cannon Mountain8638Wenatchee Mountains838 
 Mount Custer8630Skagit Range1230 
 Ptarmigan Peak8614Okanogan Range894 
 Sherpa Peak8605Wenatchee Mountains405 
 Clark Mountain8602Glacier Peak-North Stevens Pass Area1522 
 Cathedral Peak8601Okanogan Range989 
 Kimtah Peak8600Central North Cascades1040 
 Mount Carru8595Okanogan Range955 
 Monument Peak8592Okanogan Range1072 
 Cardinal Peak8590Chelan Mountains2070 
 Osceola Peak8587Okanogan Range1147 
 Raven Ridge-Libby Peak8555Methow Mountains155 
 Buck Mountain8528Glacier Peak-North Stevens Pass Area1888 
 Storm King8520Central North Cascades600 
 Enchantment Peak8520Wenatchee Mountains480 
 Reynolds Peak8512Methow Mountains2032 
 Martin Peak8511Central North Cascades2111 
 Primus Peak8508Central North Cascades828 
 Mox Peaks8504Skagit Range904 
 Dark Peak8504Central North Cascades264 
 Klawatti Peak8485Central North Cascades685 
 Mount Rahm8480Skagit Range280 
 Horseshoe Peak8480Central North Cascades80 
 Big Craggy Peak8470Okanogan Range3070 
 Lost Peak8464Okanogan Range1624 
 Hoodoo Peak8464Methow Mountains424 
 Chiwawa Mountain8459Glacier Peak-North Stevens Pass Area1219 
 Argonaut Peak8453Wenatchee Mountains733 
 Tower Mountain8444Okanogan Range2884 
 Dorado Needle8440Central North Cascades800 
 Sinister Peak8440Central North Cascades840 
 Mount Bigelow8440Methow Mountains760 
 Emerald Peak8422Chelan Mountains742 
 Dumbell Mountain8421Entiat Mountains1261 
 Greenwood Mountain8415Entiat Mountains655 
 Mox Peaks-Northwest Peak8407Skagit Range527 
 Saska Peak8404Chelan Mountains644 
 Azurite Peak8400Okanogan Range1880 
 Luahna Peak8400Glacier Peak-North Stevens Pass Area720 
 Pinnacle Mountain8400Chelan Mountains1720 
 Blackcap Mountain8397Okanogan Range397 
 Courtney Peak8392Methow Mountains672 
 Spectacle Buttes8392Entiat Mountains1072 
 Martin Peak8375Methow Mountains855 
 Lake Mountain8371Okanogan Range811 
 Golden Horn8366Okanogan Range1126 
 West Craggy8366Okanogan Range726 
 McClellan Peak8364Wenatchee Mountains1244 
 Devore Peak8360Central North Cascades1722 
 Amphitheater Mountain8358Okanogan Range758 
 Snowfield Peak8347Central North Cascades2907 
 Austera Peak8334Central North Cascades414 
 Windy Peak8333Okanogan Range1772 
 Cosho Peak8332Central North Cascades492 
 Big Snagtooth8330Methow Mountains570 
 Mount Formidable8325Central North Cascades1885 
 Abernathy Peak8321Methow Mountains801 
 Switchback Mountain8321Methow Mountains441 
 Tupshin Peak8320Central North Cascades1080 
 Flora Mountain8320Central North Cascades1800 

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Multiple Ascents Grid: Click here for a grid showing all of Bob Bolton's ascents of peaks on this list (including up to 10 rounds of repeats).

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

The Bulgers were a very informal group of climbers who set out to climb the 100 highest peaks in Washington State. This list was never "official", but it has achieved a certain legitimacy among Cascade climbers and it is the usual way to the Washingtion Top 100.

This site also has a list of the strictly defined Washington Top 100, ranking only peaks that have a clean prominence of over 400 feet. These lists are very similar, but do have some differences. While the Bulger list generally uses a 400-foot prominence cutoff, for volcanoes they use an 800-foot threshold, and for other well-known summits with less than 400 feet of prominence they make exceptions.

The differences are (thanks to Jeff Howbert for figuring all this out):

  • The Bulgers drop Liberty Cap, Sherman, Colfax, and Lincoln becasue they are volcanic subpeaks with less than 800 feet of prominence.
  • They also drop Mount Ballard, not realizing that it had a higher unsurveryed point to the north.
  • They add Seven Fingered Jack, Sahale, Dark, Rahm, Horseshoe, Little Annapurna, and Blackcap Mountain, all of which have less than 400 feet of strict prominence.
  • Having dropped five peaks and added seven, they also miss out on the bottom two of the strict 400-foot list, Luna and Castle.

Any way you look at it, this is a very difficult list to complete. Many of these peaks require serious mountaineering skill, including difficult rock-climbing ability. Consensus is that the highest of the Mox Peaks (Southeast Twin Spire) is the hardest to climb, but many of the other summits feature some combination of long approaches, bushwhacking, crevassed glaciers, steep rock pitches, and overall adventure.

The first to complete the Bulger list was Russ Kroeker in 1980.



     Summit Routes: Washington's Highest Peaks
     Official Roster of Bulger Completers

Selected Guidebook(s) for this List

       Summit Routes: Washington's 100 Highest Peaks (Stephenson, Bongiovanni)
       Washington's Highest Mountains: Basic Alpine and Glacier Routes (Goldman)

Caution: These books feature many of the peaks on this list, but may not have information on all of them.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bob Bolton   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 807999 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service