Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | OptimisticShow List using U.S. Units (Feet)

Ireland County High Points

RankCountyPeak Elev-M Range (Level 4)Ascents
1.KerryCarrauntoohil1039Southwest Ireland253
2.WicklowLugnaquillia Mountain925Southeast Ireland75
3.LimerickGaltymore Mountain919Southwest Ireland50
3.TipperaryGaltymore Mountain919Southwest Ireland50
5.MayoMweelrea814Western Ireland26
6.CarlowMount Leinster795Southeast Ireland33
6.WexfordMount Leinster795Southeast Ireland33
8.WaterfordKnockmealdown794Southwest Ireland26
9.DublinKippure757Southeast Ireland37
10.DonegalErrigal Mountain751Northeast Ireland48
11.GalwayBenbaun725Western Ireland17
12.CorkKnockboy706Southwest Ireland22
13.CavanCuillagh665Western Ireland30
14.LeitrimTruskmore647Western Ireland21
14.SligoTruskmore647Western Ireland21
16.LouthSlieve Foye589Northeast Ireland24
17.ClareMoylussa532Western Ireland22
18.LaoisArderin527Southeast Ireland19
18.OffalyArderin527Southeast Ireland19
20.KilkennyBrandon Hill516Southeast Ireland19
21.RoscommonCorry Mountain-South Slope410Western Ireland14
22.KildareCupidstown Hill379Southeast Ireland24
23.MonaghanSlieve Beagh-East Ridge370Northeast Ireland14
24.LongfordCorn Hill276Northeast Ireland19
24.MeathSlieve na Calliagh276Northeast Ireland25
26.WestmeathMullaghmeen261Northeast Ireland18

Front Runners List: Click to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

In recent years there have been some changes to the administrative counties in Ireland and they no longer match the traditional 26 counties. Some counties have been split, and then some have been later reconstituted. As of 2014, the net effect is that the former Dublin County is now administratively divided into 3 new counties plus the city of Dublin, and the cities of Cork and Galway are now separate from the surrounding namesake counties.

Since these changes are relatively minor, and the existing counties are well-known and have been around for hundreds of years, this list will continue to show the 26 traditional counties. If more change occurs, this policy may be reconsidered. But for now it still makes sense to keep the historic counties that everyone still knows and uses.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peak with Rank #1 on List;   = Other Peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1030432 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2021 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service