Method: Clean | Average | OptimisticHide Unranked Peaks in ListWinter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Ultras of the Contiguous United States - Multiple Ascents Grid

Peaks with over 1500 meters of Clean Prominence

Showing all of Paul McClellan's ascent dates (max 10 rounds) (Overall: 38 out of 57, or 66.67%)

RankPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
Round 2
Round 3
Round 4
Round 5
Round 6
Round 7
Round 8
Round 9
Round 10
1.Mount Rainier14,41113,2464 1980-08-10  1987-07-14  1989-07-23  1991-07-06       
2.Mount Whitney14,49810,0784 1986-08-27  1988-09-13  1998-07-22  2010-06-29       
3.Mount Shasta14,16297626 1986-04-20  1986-05-25  1988-06-19  1991-05-26  1991-12-15  1996-05-12     
4.Mount Elbert14,43390731 1991-09-02          
5.Mount Baker10,78188124 1993-07-04  1993-07-25  1994-07-10  1997-07-08       
6.San Jacinto Peak10,8398319           
7.San Gorgonio Mountain11,4998294           
8.Charleston Peak11,91682411 1988-10-05          
9.Mount Adams12,27681165 1977-07-24  1979-07-29  1987-07-04  1993-08-22  1996-07-14      
10.Mount Olympus796978381 1992-08-23          
11.Mount Hood11,239770649 1977-07-12  1978-05-21  1978-06-11  1978-07-22 b  1979-06-23  1980-06-08  1980-07-12  1981-07-03  1983-06-12  1984-06-02 
12.Wheeler Peak13,06375631 1985-09-28          
13.Glacier Peak10,52074982 1985-09-01  1992-08-08         
14.White Mountain Peak14,24671961 1988-10-03          
15.Gannett Peak13,80470761 1986-08-06          
16.Cloud Peak13,1677067           
17.Grand Teton13,77065301 1987-08-01          
18.Sacajawea Peak983863881 1989-07-04          
19.Kings Peak13,52863481 2013-06-28          
20.Mount Graham10,72063201 2014-03-22          
21.Mount San Antonio10,0646224           
22.Telescope Peak11,04861681 2014-10-17          
23.Mount Peale12,72161611 2015-09-02          
24.Mount Washington628861481 2018-07-14          
25.Mount Mitchell668460891 2005-09-28          
26.Humphreys Peak12,63360391 2011-09-30          
27.Borah Peak12,66259821 2011-09-15          
28.Mount Jefferson11,9415861           
29.Mount Ellen11,52258421 2015-09-04 a          
30.Deseret Peak11,03158121 2015-09-07          
31.Mount Jefferson10,497577710 1978-08-06  1980-08-03  1981-08-08  1982-08-21  1985-07-21  1986-07-20  1988-07-24  1990-09-02  1998-08-30  2005-08-27 
32.Pilot Peak10,7165726           
33.Crazy Peak11,2095709           
34.McDonald Peak98205640           
35.South Sister10,358558821 1976-09-25  1979-06-19  1979-09-13  1987-10-18  1988-01-02  1988-08-21  1991-06-23  1993-07-11  2000-08-20  2002-06-08 
36.Sierra Blanca Peak11,9735533           
37.Pikes Peak14,11055101 2017-09-02          
38.Mount Nebo11,92854881 2015-09-06 a          
39.Snowshoe Peak87385418           
40.North Schell Peak11,8835403           
41.Star Peak98365400           
42.Hayford Peak99125392           
43.Diamond Peak12,1975377           
44.Flat Top Mountain10,6205370           
45.Mount Stuart941553545 1982-07-11  1983-07-23  1987-09-06  1991-07-28  2002-09-15      
46.Blanca Peak14,34553261 1982-09-05          
47.Mount Timpanogos11,7495269           
48.Ibapah Peak12,0875247           
49.Lassen Peak10,45752291 1986-08-29          
50.Mount Cleveland10,4665226           
51.Arc Dome11,7735213           
52.She Devil940052001 2014-08-30 b          
53.Abercrombie Mountain730851681 2014-08-26          
54.Mount Lemmon915751572 2013-03-17  2016-03-10         
55.Chiricahua Peak975951392 2014-03-23  2018-10-22 a         
56.Mount Eddy902551051 2015-06-03          
57.Miller Peak946650061 2015-11-09 b          
 Mount Marcy534449141 2018-07-11          

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Paul McClellan, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description


The master list of the world's "Ultras" was originally compiled in the 2000-2006 timeframe by Jonathan de Ferranti, Aaron Maizlish, and Eberhard Jurgalski, with the assistance of several other prominence enthusiasts and Edward Earl’s Winprom program. Their listings were published on The lists on this site incorporate several updates, additions, and deletions since then, many of them resulting from a worldwide programmatic analysis done by Andrew Kirmse in 2017. All prominence-based climbers owe these pioneers a huge debt of gratitude.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Paul McClellan   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 42767 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service