Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Tennessee County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
1.SevierClingmans Dome66434503  
2.CockeOld Black6370170  
3.CarterRoan High Knob62853485  
4.BlountThunderhead Mountain55271087  
5.JohnsonSnake Mountain-North Peak551838  
6.UnicoiBig Bald55162556  
7.MonroeHaw Knob5472192  
8.GreeneGravel Knob4852332  
9.SullivanHolston High Point42801600  
10.PolkBig Frog Mountain42002480  
11.JeffersonEnglish Mountain36292292  
12.AndersonCross Mountain35342094  
12.CampbellCross Mountain35342094  
14.WashingtonPinnacle Mountain35201550  
15.MorganBig Fodderstack3340980  
16.ScottBurge Mountain3260380  
17.ClaiborneBryson Mountain3129309  
18.HawkinsChimneytop-Southwest Peak31181738  
19.CumberlandHinch Mountain30481588  
20.BledsoeHolloway Ridge2680240  
21.HancockNewman Ridge2620940  
22.GraingerClinch Mountain-Grainger County HP2520480  
23.GrundyLockhart Lookout Tower23822  
24.SequatchieSequatchie County High Point2380440  
24.MarionLockhart Lookout Tower-South Summit23800  
26.McMinnStarr Mountain2340460  
27.UnionSignal Point2300560  
28.HamiltonLookout Mountain2146381  
29.Van burenSmartt Mountain2142262  
30.CannonShort Mountain20921002  
31.KnoxHouse Mountain20801000  
32.PutnamPutnam County High Point20600  
33.RheaWalden Ridge-Rhea County HP20400  
34.FranklinSewanee Benchmark203999  
35.RoaneMount Roosevelt2036576  
36.OvertonHampton Mountain2020120  
36.CoffeeCoffee County High Point202020  
38.WhiteWhite County High Point2009149  
39.WarrenWarren County High Point198040  
40.HamblenCrockett Ridge1952732  
41.FentressFentress County High Point187010  
42.PickettGolman Mountain1786666  
43.LincolnLincoln County High Point150060  
44.BradleyWhite Oak Mountain-Ooltewah Lookout1495615  
45.ClayPilot Knob1400460  
46.WilsonMount Defiance Southwest1363483  
47.RutherfordRutherford County High Point1360140  
49.DeKalbDekalb County High Point1330110  
48.BedfordLocust Knob West1325425  
50.LoudonAlexander Knob1313333  
51.MeigsMcMinn Ridge1296396  
52.MarshallTwitty Knob East1280118  
53.MooreChestnut Ridge126060  
54.WilliamsonWilliamson County High Point1256466  
55.SmithWalnut Knob1248488  
56.DavidsonDavidson County High Point1160420  
56.GilesFlanigan Hill1160200  
56.MauryFlanigan Hill1160200  
59.JacksonTick Ridge112060  
60.MaconMacon County High Point1100140  
60.LawrenceLawrence County High Point110040  
60.TrousdaleTrousdale County High Point1100360  
63.SumnerSumner County High Point1085165  
64.WayneWayne County High Point1080135  
65.LewisLewis County High Point10600  
66.PerryPerry County High Point98060  
66.HickmanBon Aqua Lookout Tower98060  
68.DicksonDickson County High Point960160  
69.RobertsonRobertson County High Point92020  
70.CheathamSullivan Ridge West900260  
71.HumphreysDickhum Benchmark Area8800  
72.HoustonHouston County High Point86040  
73.HardinHardin County High Point84020  
74.MontgomeryMontgomery County High Point80626  
75.StewartStewart County High Point76060  
76.ChesterSand Mountain740240  
77.CarrollMaple Creek Lookout700180  
77.HendersonHenderson County High Point700120  
77.DecaturMount Carmel West700180  
80.HardemanHickory Benchmark68888  
81.BentonRound Top680117  
81.McNairyMount Peter680120  
83.FayetteGordon Hill67797  
84.MadisonMadison County High Point660160  
85.HenryHenry County High Point650180  
86.WeakleyWeakley County High Point60070  
87.GibsonGibson County High Point57060  
88.ObionObion County High Point551181  
89.LauderdaleLauderdale County High Point520180  
90.DyerDyer County High Point515185  
91.HaywoodHaywood County High Point50010  
92.CrockettCrockett County High Point48060  
93.TiptonTipton County High Point450100  
94.ShelbyShelby County High Point43010  
95.LakeLake County High Point32237  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Dale York, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Tennessee, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Dale York   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1210755 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2022 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service