Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Kentucky County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
1.HarlanBlack Mountain41391899  
2.LetcherBlack Mountain-Northeast High Peak3720280  
3.BellCumberland Mountain-Chadwell Benchmark34000  
4.PikePine Mountain-Birch Gap Peak3149749  
5.LeslieChestnut Knob2600400  
6.PerryDelphia Benchmark2520440  
7.KnottKnott-Letcher-Pike Triple County Point2360240  
8.KnoxKnox County High Point23221062  
9.FloydFloyd County High Point2320480  
10.ClaySugar Gap Northeast2235555  
11.WhitleyPine Mountain-Whitley County High Point2220260  
12.McCrearyRyans Creek Mountain2165705  
13.CaseyGreen River Knob1789689  
14.WayneMiller Benchmark1788166  
15.ClintonClinton County High Point1780380  
16.LaurelLaurel County High Point1760620  
17.OwsleyOwsley County High Point1720300  
18.PulaskiGreen River Knob-Southeast Slope16800  
19.MadisonBear Mountain1660240  
20.RockcastleCruse Ridge1640160  
20.MagoffinSignal Knob Lookout1640320  
22.JacksonCruse Ridge163393  
23.BreathittTenmile Benchmark1620380  
24.MartinMartin County High Point1606326  
25.EstillZion Mountain1511591  
26.JohnsonStuffley Knob1480480  
26.WolfeWolfe County High Point1480320  
28.MontgomeryWestbrook Mountain1447247  
29.PowellPilot Knob1440500  
29.LincolnLincoln County High Point144020  
31.RowanLimestone Knob1435495  
32.MenifeeMenifee County High Point1428288  
33.FlemingSand Mountain1420394  
34.MorganMorgan County High Point1400252  
34.LewisLewis County High Point1400320  
34.GarrardGarrard County High Point1400303  
37.BathTater Knob1388328  
38.LeeLee County High Point1367307  
39.BoyleParksville Knob1364124  
40.ElliottElliott County High Point1360240  
41.LawrenceLawrence County High Point1320260  
42.CarterCarter County High Point1307107  
43.MarionPutnam Knob1260340  
44.TaylorTaylor County High Point120020  
44.GreenupGreenup County High Point1200100  
46.ShelbyJeptha Knob Benchmark1188398  
47.MetcalfeMetcalfe County High Point1180220  
48.HartFrenchman Knob1160380  
49.MonroeMonroe County High Point1141121  
50.RussellRussell County High Point1140160  
50.BoydBoyd County High Point1140440  
52.ClarkClark County High Point1120220  
52.AdairAdair County High Point1120195  
52.CumberlandCumberland County High Point11200  
55.LarueLarue County High Point1100140  
56.NelsonRohan Knob1090380  
57.JessamineJessamine County High Point107060  
57.FayetteFayette County High Point107040  
59.BarrenLoves Knob1068178  
60.HarrisonLeesburg Benchmark1060120  
60.ScottLeesburg Benchmark1060120  
60.NicholasNicholas County High Point106080  
63.BourbonBourbon County High Point105030  
64.GreenGreen County High Point1040120  
65.WashingtonWashington County High Point102040  
65.HardinBlueball Hill1020240  
67.RobertsonRobertson County High Point100969  
68.MasonMason County High Point1000120  
68.MercerMercer County High Point100060  
68.WoodfordWoodford County High Point100060  
68.MeadeBee Knob Hill1000240  
68.GrantGrant County High Point100040  
68.OwenOwen County High Point100080  
68.BrackenBracken County High Point100080  
75.BullittDawson Knob980500  
76.TrimbleFishers Ridge970120  
77.ToddPilot Rock966306  
78.GraysonBuzzard Ridge9633  
79.AllenAllen County High Point96085  
79.BooneBoone County High Point96040  
79.KentonKenton County High Point96040  
79.HenryHenry County High Point96070  
79.PendletonPendleton County High Point96020  
84.ChristianPilot Rock-West Slope9500  
84.WarrenPilot Knob950330  
86.FranklinWarfield BM94080  
86.AndersonAnderson County High Point94080  
88.CarrollCarroll County High Point93040  
89.SimpsonPilot Knob928238  
90.BreckinridgeBreckinridge County High Point920120  
90.OldhamOldham County High Point92040  
90.CampbellCampbell County High Point920130  
90.GallatinGallatin County High Point920200  
94.JeffersonSouth Park Hills902362  
95.EdmonsonEdmonson County High Point90060  
96.SpencerSpencer County High Point8800  
97.LoganRainbow Rock Knob WSW868188  
98.CrittendenWilson Hill842342  
99.HancockHancock County High Point840210  
100.ButlerButler County High Point8200  
101.TriggBuie Knob813223  
102.OhioOhio County High Point800100  
103.CaldwellCaldwell County High Point767207  
104.MuhlenbergMuhlenberg County High Point760130  
105.LivingstonLockhart Bluff754294  
106.HopkinsHopkins County High Point729229  
107.DaviessDaviess County High Point680130  
108.UnionChalybeate Hills673193  
109.LyonLeitch BM670   
110.McLeanBarrett Hill660180  
111.CallowayCalloway County High Point64040  
111.WebsterSteamport Hill640240  
113.HendersonWolf Hills588158  
114.GravesGraves County High Point5800  
115.MarshallMarshall County High Point5508  
115.CarlisleCarlisle County High Point550130  
117.HickmanHickman County High Point51020  
118.BallardBallard County High Point50020  
118.McCrackenMcCracken County High Point50060  
118.FultonFulton County High Point50023  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Dale York, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Kentucky, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills and Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by John Hasch via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Dale York   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 949594 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2022 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service