Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Minnesota County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
1.CookEagle Mountain23011321  
2.LakeStony Tower Hill2080380  
3.ClearwaterHeight of Land Lookout2005675  
4.LincolnLincoln County High Point1994224  
5.PipestonePipestone County High Point1990230  
6.Saint LouisPike Mountain1950520  
7.MurrayBuffalo Ridge192090  
8.BeckerWolf Lake Lookout1860310  
9.HubbardHubbard County High Point1840120  
10.MahnomenMahnomen County High Point18200  
11.NoblesNobles County High Point18100  
12.Otter TailOtter Tail County High Point1790460  
12.RockHardwick Benchmark179050  
14.ItascaBig Thunder Peak1752442  
15.LyonLyon County High Point174020  
15.Yellow MedicineYellow Medicine County High Point174020  
17.CassCass-Chippewa High Point1630   
18.DouglasBear Knob1620150  
19.AitkinQuadna Mountain1590300  
20.PolkPolk County High Point157060  
20.CottonwoodCottonwood County High Point1570160  
20.JacksonJackson County High Point157030  
23.ClayClay County High Point1540170  
24.MorrisonMorrison County High Point1520190  
24.KoochichingKoochiching County High Point1520140  
24.WadenaWadena County High Point152060  
27.ToddMount Nebo151181  
28.BeltramiBeltrami County High Point1510133  
29.Crow WingCrow Wing County High Point149050  
30.PopePope County High Point146050  
30.StearnsStearns County High Point1460280  
32.RedwoodRedwood County High Point14500  
32.CarltonCarlton County High Point1450120  
34.MowerMower County High Point1440110  
34.FaribaultFaribault County High Point1440200  
36.MartinMartin County High Point141020  
36.KandiyohiKandiyohi County High Point1410180  
36.Lac Qui ParleLac Qui Parle County High Point14100  
39.FillmoreFillmore County High Point140050  
39.GrantGrant County High Point140070  
39.FreebornFreeborn County High Point140020  
42.DodgeDodge County High Point138181  
43.OlmstedOlmsted County High Point1380168  
44.Mille LacsMille Lacs County High Point1370110  
45.WinonaWinona County High Point1365185  
46.PinePine County High Point136095  
47.NormanFrenchmans Bluff135494  
48.SteeleSteele County High Point135073  
49.HoustonHouston County High Point1340220  
50.KanabecKanabec County High Point132030  
51.Lake of the WoodsLake of the Woods County High Point1315123  
52.BentonBenton County High Point131040  
53.SwiftSwift County High Point130040  
53.WatonwanWatonwan County High Point130010  
55.WasecaWaseca County High Point129010  
56.StevensStevens County High Point127040  
56.RiceRice County High Point127030  
56.RoseauRoseau County High Point127013  
56.GoodhueGoodhue County High Point127020  
60.BrownBrown County High Point12630  
61.MeekerMeeker County High Point126070  
62.WilkinWilkin County High Point12520  
63.WabashaGreenfield Hill1240120  
64.MarshallMarshall County High Point12353  
65.ScottElko Benchmark1230207  
66.WrightFrench Benchmark1223163  
67.Red LakeRed Lake County High Point12103  
68.Big StoneBig Stone County High Point120033  
68.TraverseLayden Benchmark120083  
70.DakotaBuck Hill1195215  
71.Blue EarthBlue Earth County High Point1190160  
71.Le SueurLe Sueur County High Point119050  
73.PenningtonPennington County High Point11853  
74.RenvilleRenville County High Point114530  
75.McLeodMcLeod County High Point114060  
76.ChisagoChisago County High Point1130220  
77.HennepinHennepin County High Point1120170  
77.ChippewaChippewa County High Point112010  
79.IsantiBarrett Benchmark1111141  
80.SherburneSherburne County High Point111080  
81.WashingtonWashington County High Point1104184  
82.AnokaAnoka County High Point110030  
82.RamseyRamsey County High Point1100210  
84.SibleySibley County High Point109010  
85.KittsonKittson County High Point10820  
86.CarverCarver County High Point1080110  
87.NicolletNicollet County High Point106030  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Dale York, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Minnesota, then you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1996 by David Olson, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for peaks provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Dale York   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1554718 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2022 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service