Show List Using Metric Units

Unsuccessful Ascent List for Wm Rogers

No one can call themselves an experienced mountaineer unless they have turned back unsuccessfully from some of their summit attempts. Climbing is a game of knowing when to press on and when to bail, and these choices can mean the difference between great success and needless death. It is a misnomer, of course, to call any trip into the mountains “unsuccessful” —these attempts are often richer experiences with far more opportunities for learning and growth.

The following table shows all of Wm Rogers's unsuccessful attempts. If the peak was climbed later, then the successful ascent date is noted, and how much time elapsed since the attempt. The “Attempt” column will be 2, 3, or other higher numbers for peaks that have been unsuccessfully attempted more than once. Unsuccessful attempts of peaks that have already been climbed are also shown.

Ascent DateTrip ReportPeak or PointElev-ftReached-ftAttemptLocationProm-ftSuccess DateTime Elapsed
2004-07-16 Mount Adams1227610000 USA-WA81162008-08-114 Years, 26 Days Later
2005-05-19 Mount Elbert1443312500 USA-CO9073 
2005-05-20 Mount Princeton1419712500 USA-CO2157 
2007-09-14 Mount Adams12276116002USA-WA81162008-08-11332 Days Later
2008-05-13TRMount Defiance49604700 USA-OR1520 
2009-05-18 Mount Hood1123910500 USA-OR77062003-06-18Already Climbed
2009-08-17 Mount Shasta1416213700 USA-CA9762 
2009-08-30 Mount Rainier1441110100 USA-WA13246 
2010-07-14 Mount Rainier14411122802USA-WA13246 
2010-07-27TRMount Jefferson1049710240 USA-OR5777 
2011-05-24 Mount Hood112399100 USA-OR77062003-06-18Already Climbed
2011-09-21 Silver Star Mountain88768000 USA-WA2436 
2011-10-15 Mount Adams122769400 USA-WA81162008-08-11Already Climbed

Copyright © 1987-2018 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service