Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Most Prominent Peak

Rob Woodall's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Feet/Miles Color Ranges
  Highest Point Reached    Highest Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1970     Δ Snowdon      
1976     Δ Carnedd Llewelyn      
1977Δ Kinder Scout           
1981     Δ Ben LawersΔ White CoombΔ Ben CruachanΔ Ben Nevis   
1983     Δ Glamaig      
1986    Δ LiathachΔ Sgurr Mór      
1987    Δ Carn EigeΔ Ben Macdui      
1988    Δ Beinn DamhΔ Creag Meagaidh      
1989  Δ Cairnsmore of CarsphairnΔ Sgurr nan EagΔ Sgurr AlasdairΔ Beinn BhrotainΔ Culter Fell    Δ Gaor Bheinn
1990Δ Creag Toll a'Choin  Δ Ben ChonzieΔ CarrauntoohilΔ Ben More Δ Broad Law Δ Beinn an Lochain  
1991  Δ MorvenΔ Ben GulabinΔ Sgurr DhomhnuillΔ Stob a'Choin   Δ Beinn Mhor  
1992  Δ Beinn Chuirn Δ Goat FellΔ Merrick   Δ Sgurr nan Eugallt  
1993  Δ Geal-charn MorΔ Sgurr a'MhuilinnΔ Garbh-bheinnΔ Clisham     Δ Beinn Udlaidh
1994   Δ Rois-BheinnΔ Streap Δ Beinn Bhan   Δ Beinn BheulaΔ Stob Dubh
1995Δ Creag an Dail Bheag  Δ Dun da GhaoitheΔ Caisteal AbhailΔ Askival      
1997     Δ Ben Nevis    Δ PlynlimonΔ Black Chew Head
1998   Δ West LomondΔ Beinn na CaillichΔ Ronas Hill Δ WeissmiesΔ Foel CwmcerwynΔ Chwarel y FanΔ Rombald's MoorΔ Wentwood
1999 Δ Mynydd Bodafon  Δ Scafell PikeΔ StorrΔ Cruachan CharnaΔ Barre des ÉcrinsΔ Walbury HillΔ Cleeve Common  
2000Δ South BarruleΔ Meikle Says Law Δ Mullach na CarnΔ Beinn ChreagachΔ Dun CaanΔ Cruach ScarbaΔ FinsteraarhornΔ Seaforth Island   
2001Δ Dunkery Beacon     Δ CarnanΔ Beinn a'Charnain  Δ DuncolmΔ Ebrington Hill
2002Δ Creag an Amalaidh Δ Snaefell Δ An SgurrΔ EabhalΔ Ailsa CraigΔ Hill of Stake Δ Dunstable DownsΔ Great Wood 
2003   Δ Beinn BhreacΔ ConachairΔ Carnllundain Δ Holdstone DownΔ Sithean Mor   
2004    Δ IdaΔ MweelreaΔ Brown Clee HillΔ Earl's Seat  Δ Table 
2005Δ WrekinΔ Worcestershire Beacon Δ MoylussaΔ CintoΔ San PetroneΔ Moel Famau  Δ Wolds  
2006  Δ Shining Tor    Δ ChamechaudeΔ Crêt de la Neige Δ Whernside 
2007Δ Lamberton Hill Δ Teide Δ Black DownΔ KinabaluΔ Kerinci     
2008    Δ Skomer Island HP Δ EtnaΔ MarmoladaΔ Säntis Δ YushanΔ Chimborazo
2009 Δ Bass Rock Δ Mullach an EileinΔ Day Mark  Δ DamavandΔ Cnoc GlasΔ Punta la MarmoraΔ El Morrón de la AgujereadaΔ Ruivo
2010Δ Stanley    Δ BlancΔ Vanil NoirΔ OlympusΔ HochkönigΔ AmaroΔ Torreón del Pinar Δ Chorolque
2011Δ Aconcagua  Δ Óros Taigetos  Δ AraratΔ GroßglocknerΔ Jebel Toubkal Δ Sanda IslandΔ Colima
2012Δ Orizaba Δ SpathiΔ IdaΔ TallabricΔ SchesaplanaΔ ElbertΔ CloudΔ Fuji-san Δ Gebel KatherînaΔ Tajumulco
2013Δ Mauna Kea Δ da AntoniaΔ Cano  Δ RainierΔ ShastaΔ Togano Δ CantillanaΔ Llaima
2014Δ Ritacuba Blanco  Δ Montanha do PicoΔ CruachanΔ WhitneyΔ ShastaΔ Piz SesvennaΔ OlympusΔ Stac an ArminΔ Viewing HillΔ Ruapehu
2015Δ Tapuae-o-UenukuΔ MountΔ Cameroon Δ Divis Δ GaldhøpiggenΔ Wilhelm Δ Burley MoorΔ Picacho del DiabloΔ Shira Ridge
2016Δ Kilimanjaro    Δ Kirriereoch Hill-Northwest SlopeΔ Gerlachovský štítΔ TödiΔ KorabΔ Puigmal Δ Chirripó
2017Δ Chirripó Δ Selvili TepeΔ Jebel Tidirhine Δ HvannadalshnúkurΔ CivettaΔ OdinΔ Shuswap Δ Creuch HillΔ Olympus
2018Δ Hanang Δ Jebel Shams         


Legend for Color Coding

3,000 meters or more
1,500 to 2,999 meters
1,000 to 1,499 meters
600 to 999 meters
300 to 599 meters
Below 300 meters

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2018 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service