Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Top Ascents in All Categories

Andy Smatko's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Meters Color Ranges
  Highest Point Reached    Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality  


1955      Δ LeConte
Δ Brewer
1956     Δ MatterhornΔ WhitneyΔ LyellΔ Williamson   
1957  Δ Sirretta  Δ LangleyΔ WhitneyΔ North PalisadeΔ Split
Δ Humphreys
Δ Crag  
1958   Δ SawtoothΔ Kearsarge
Δ Independence
Δ Maggie
Δ Sheep
Δ Stanford
Δ Midway
Δ Fiske
Δ Arrow
Δ McAdie
Δ Gould
 Δ Rockhouse 
1959  Δ Lamont Δ BradleyΔ Winchell
Δ Starr
Δ Disappointment
Δ Norman Clyde
Δ Temple Crag
Δ RoyceΔ Corcoran   
1960   Δ PerkinsΔ MorganΔ Muir
Δ Guyot
Δ Gabb
Δ Red Slate
Δ Florence
Δ Half Dome
Δ Merced
Δ BlackΔ Taylor Dome
Δ Pilot Knob
1961   Δ Birch
Δ Moses
Δ North Maggie
Δ Gayley
Δ Diamond
Δ Colosseum
Δ Thompson
Δ San Joaquin
Δ PinchotΔ Seven Gables
Δ Hooper
Δ Henry
Δ Deerhorn
Δ Warren
Δ Gibbs
Δ Conness
1962     Δ Gregorys Monument-S Pk
Δ Three Sisters
Δ South Guard
Δ Piute
Δ Pettit
Δ SilverΔ Tower
Δ Rose
1963    Δ Muriel
Δ Kearsarge
Δ Independence
Δ Caltech
Δ Twin Peaks
Δ Pyramid
Δ Triple Divide
Δ McDuffie
Δ Giraud
Δ Observation
Δ Stanislaus
Δ Spanish
Δ Excelsior
Δ Dunderberg
1964  Δ Cartago Δ KernΔ Lion Rock
Δ Mammoth
Δ Reinstein
Δ Finger
Δ Julius Caesar
Δ Lewis
Δ State
Δ Devils Crags
Δ Alta
Δ Muah
1965    Δ UniversityΔ TunnaboraΔ KaweahΔ Feather
Δ Crocker
Δ Gemini
Δ Senger
Δ Acrodectes  
1966    Δ Mary AustinΔ Ed Lane
Δ Whorl
Δ Norman Clyde
Δ Tom Ross
Δ Muir
Δ Kaweah Queen
Δ Thor
Δ HarringtonΔ Basin Mountain-SW Pk  
1967      Δ HumphreysΔ PowellΔ Williamson
Δ Keith
Δ Broken Finger
Δ Wheeler
1968   Δ Pinyon  Δ WilliamsΔ Sill
Δ Vennacher Needle
 Δ Barnard-E Pk  
1969     Δ BlackΔ Gilbert
Δ Half Dome
Δ Pyramidal Pinnacle
Δ Lippincott
Δ Point Powell
Δ Solomons
Δ Hermit
Δ Owens  
1970     Δ LangleyΔ Polemonium
Δ Cedric Wright
Δ Stanford    
1971    Δ Alice Δ Izaak Walton Δ Crater
Δ Clarence King
1972  Δ ScodieΔ Wonoga Δ GayleyΔ Crocker
Δ Izaak Walton
Δ Abbot
Δ Laurel
Δ GardinerΔ Morris  
1973       Δ Foerster
Δ Lola
Δ Brewer
Δ Round Top
Δ Isosceles
Δ Grouse
1974   Δ Heald Δ No Goode
Δ Silliman
Δ Seven Gables
Δ Leavitt
 Δ Devils Crags   
1975     Δ KunaΔ Hutchings
Δ Givens
 Δ Tawny PointΔ Ruby
Δ Round
1976    Δ Morrison Δ Glacier Ridge     
1977    Δ Lee ViningΔ Blacktop
Δ Camiaca
Δ Stanton
Δ Blackcap
 Δ Keeler Needle
Δ Wotans Throne
Δ Blue Canyon
1978     Δ TiogaΔ Crown Point
Δ Center
Δ Hansen
Δ Pavilion Dome
Δ Eagle   
1979    Δ MiterΔ North Maggie
Δ Moses
Δ RaggedΔ TuolumneΔ Burnt
Δ Kettle Dome
1980     Δ Warren
Δ Kern
Δ GouldΔ Palisade Crest
Δ Shakspere
Δ Eocene
Δ Crown Point
1981    Δ TrailΔ White Δ Lone PineΔ Whitney   
1982      Δ Sky Haven
Δ Mineral
1983     Δ MorganΔ Palmer
Δ Mitchell
Δ Tallac    
1984    Δ KearsargeΔ Owens PointΔ White Chief Δ Mono Rock   
1985     Δ UniversityΔ Cold
Δ Hoffman
Δ Tuolumne
Δ Indian Rock
Δ Langley   
1986      Δ Panther Δ Gale
Δ Madera
Δ Jenkins  
1987    Δ Cannell  Δ MichieΔ Echo Peak #1
Δ Columbia Finger
Δ Needles
Δ Castle Rock
 Δ Butterbredt


Legend for Color Coding

20,000 feet or more
14,000 to 19,999 feet
10,000 to 13,999 feet
5,000 to 9,999 feet
2,000 to 4,999 feet
Below 2,000 ft

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2016 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service