Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Highest Point Reached

Matthias Fieles's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Feet/Miles Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1979  Δ Morgensternhöhe         
1980     Δ Hexentanzplatz      
1981      Δ Fichtelberg     
1982      Δ Hohe Gieck     
1983      Δ Bastei     
1984      Δ Praded     
1985       Δ Prague HP    
1986     Δ Lilienstein      
1987      Δ Königsstuhl     
1988     Δ VysokáΔ Petersberg     
1989          Δ Feldberg 
1990  Δ FeldbergΔ Hochblauen        
1991      Δ Prosa     
1992     Δ Hoheneck Δ Piz San Bernardino    
1993      Δ Piz San Bernardino     
1994      Δ Kulpenberg     
1995           Δ Geierkogel
1996Δ Hochgolling Δ Friedhorstpark Δ Tioga Δ Brienzer RothornΔ Prosa    
1997     Δ Hirschstein      
1998           Δ Sonora
1999 Δ Blößling    Δ Männlichen     
2000   Δ Gaislachkogel Δ Falesia Ronco      
2001   Δ Akdað  Δ Oberaarhorn-X     
2002 Δ BrünnelistockΔ RinderhornΔ Hinter-FiescherhornΔ RaimeuxΔ Vorderer TierbergΔ Aiguille du MidiΔ StecknadelhornΔ Alphubel   
2003Δ HerzogenhornΔ SpitalΔ WildhornΔ LudwigshöheΔ Zumsteinspitze-XΔ GwächtenhornΔ BlüemlisalphornΔ DomΔ Arête des Sommêtres   
2004Δ BreithornΔ FeldbergΔ Wildstrubel-GrossstrubelΔ AllalinhornΔ BalmflueΔ StuderhornΔ BrentoniΔ KebnekaiseΔ WeissmiesΔ Hagelstöckli Δ Herrischried
2005Δ Feldberg Δ Spilauer StockΔ Hinter-FiescherhornΔ Eiger-XΔ OberaarhornΔ Aiguille du MidiΔ EigerΔ Südliche SexegertenspitzeΔ Montanha do Pico  
2006Δ FeldbergΔ Yding SkovhøjΔ ClaridenΔ CastorΔ RosaΔ TrotzigplanggstockΔ NadelhornΔ Gran Paradiso Δ Grand BallonΔ Königstuhl 
2007Δ Kenya-Nelion-XΔ KilimanjaroΔ WildhornΔ SnežkaΔ Piz Bernina-XΔ GroßglocknerΔ BishornΔ NaafkopfΔ KékesΔ GrauspitzeΔ Herzogenhorn 
2008Δ EggishornΔ (Stand)Δ Albristhorn-XΔ StolembergΔ RossstockΔ Vorderer TierbergΔ FinsteraarhornΔ AthabascaΔ ErbeskopfΔ Raimeux-XΔ SäntisΔ Strahlhorn-X
2009Δ Le ChasseralΔ Hengst-XΔ HohgratΔ SljemeΔ Nordend-XΔ MorgenberghornΔ Piz BerninaΔ MusalaΔ LagginhornΔ Les Arales  
2010Δ EggbergΔ Helpter BergΔ Suur MunamagiΔ Skogsby  Δ Tête BlancheΔ OberaarhornΔ Rossstock   
2011  Δ TitlisΔ Sommet des Diablerets  Δ JungfrauΔ HaltiΔ TeideΔ Bös FulenΔ Vatican HillΔ Formosinho
2012Δ Titlis Δ Kazbek-XΔ SadzeleΔ Le ChasseralΔ Vorderer Tierberg Δ Crystal Crag Δ TüfelstalbodenΔ Suur MunamagiΔ Jersey HP
2013Δ FrankenhöheΔ Klein TitlisΔ Aragats Lerr Δ MulhacénΔ Vanil NoirΔ MönchΔ DamavandΔ HornisgrindeΔ Gerlachovský štítΔ Dak von BrabantΔ Scheibenfels
2014Δ BalmeregghornΔ SteineckbergΔ TitlisΔ Peak 3554Δ ElbrusΔ RhonestockΔ AllalinhornΔ Jungholz SenderΔ TankenbergΔ Goverla  
2015Δ Jungholz SenderΔ JakobshornΔ Jungholz SenderΔ OlympusΔ BifangΔ Grand Ballon Δ Ararat Δ Le Haut KoenigsbourgΔ Jungholz SenderΔ Jungholz Sender
2016Δ Jungholz Sender Δ Jungholz SenderΔ BattertΔ FeldbergΔ Jungholz SenderΔ BalanestiΔ Ortles  Δ HochkopfΔ Dekalog Aussichtspunkt
2017Δ Jungholz SenderΔ Dekalog AussichtspunktΔ ZweitausenderΔ Jungholz SenderΔ Dekalog AussichtspunktΔ BeerenbergΔ Halde HohenwardΔ Dekalog AussichtspunktΔ Jungholz SenderΔ Jungholz SenderΔ Dekalog AussichtspunktΔ Möslezelg
2018    Δ SnowdonΔ Ida      


Legend for Color Coding

6,000 meters or more
4,000 to 5,999 meters
3,000 to 3,999 meters
1,500 to 2,999 meters
600 to 1,499 meters
Below 600 meters

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2018 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service