U.S. State Summary Grid Lists

Ten Highest Peaks in Selected States and Regions

A 400-foot clean prominence cutoff is used to include peaks on these lists, even though in many states the cutoff is traditionally lower. That is why a summit like Mount Lincoln in the northeast, with only 169 feet of clean prominence, is not included. Note that the highest point in Nevada, Boundary Peak, also has less than 400 feet of prominence, so is not in this grid.

A red triangle (Δ) before the name of a peak means it has been climbed by Gordon MacLeod. Click on the triangle to see the ascent information for that climb.

Denali-North Peak19,470
Mount Saint Elias18,008
Mount Foraker17,400
Mount Bona16,500
Mount Blackburn16,390
Mount Blackburn-Southeast Peak16,286
Mount Sanford16,237
Mount Churchill15,638
Mount Fairweather15,325
Δ Mount Rainier14,411
Liberty Cap14,112
Mount Adams12,276
Little Tahoma11,138
Mount Baker10,781
Glacier Peak10,520
Bonanza Peak9511
Mount Stuart9415
Mount Fernow9249
Goode Mountain9200
Δ Granite Peak12,799
Δ Mount Wood12,660
Δ Castle Mountain12,612
Δ Whitetail Peak12,551
Δ Silver Run Peak12,542
Δ Castle Rock Spire12,540
Tempest Mountain12,469
Δ Mount Peal12,409
Δ Castle Rock Mountain12,401
Δ Bowback Mountain12,351
Northeast States
Mount Washington6288
Mount Adams5799
Mount Jefferson5712
Mount Madison5366
Mount Marcy5344
Mount Lafayette5240
Algonquin Peak5115
Mount Haystack4961
Mount Skylight4925
Δ Mount Hood11,239
Mount Jefferson10,497
South Sister10,358
North Sister10,085
Middle Sister10,047
Δ Sacajawea Peak9838
Hurwal Divide9776
Δ Steens Mountain9733
Δ Aneroid Mountain9702
Δ Petes Point9675
Δ Borah Peak12,662
Leatherman Peak12,228
Mount Church12,200
Diamond Peak12,197
Mount Breitenbach12,140
Lost River Mountain12,078
Mount Idaho12,065
Δ Hyndman Peak12,009
USGS Peak11,982
Peak 1196711,967
Δ Gannett Peak13,804
Δ Grand Teton13,770
Δ Fremont Peak13,745
Mount Warren13,722
Δ Mount Helen13,620
Turret Peak13,600
Mount Sacagawea13,569
Jackson Peak13,517
Δ Mount Woodrow Wilson13,502
Bastion Peak13,494
Δ Mount Elbert14,433
Δ Mount Massive14,421
Δ Mount Harvard14,420
Δ Blanca Peak14,345
Δ La Plata Peak14,336
Δ Uncompahgre Peak14,309
Δ Crestone Peak14,294
Δ Mount Lincoln14,286
Δ Grays Peak14,270
Δ Mount Antero14,269
Δ Mount Whitney14,498
Δ Mount Williamson14,373
Δ White Mountain Peak14,246
Δ North Palisade14,242
Δ Mount Shasta14,162
Δ Mount Russell14,088
Δ Split Mountain14,058
Δ Mount Langley14,026
Δ Mount Tyndall14,019
Δ Middle Palisade14,012
Δ Wheeler Peak13,063
Jeff Davis Peak12,771
Δ Baker Peak12,305
Δ Mount Moriah12,067
Δ Mount Jefferson11,941
Δ Pyramid Peak11,926
Δ Charleston Peak11,916
Δ North Schell Peak11,883
Δ Mount Jefferson-North Summit11,814
Δ Schell Creek Peak 359511,795
Δ Kings Peak13,528
Δ Gilbert Peak13,442
Mount Emmons13,440
Roberts Peak13,287
Gunsight Peak13,263
Henrys Fork Peak13,240
Δ Mount Lovenia13,219
Δ Tokewanna Peak13,165
Mount Powell13,159
Δ Wasatch Peak13,156
Midwest States
Δ Black Elk Peak7231
Odakota Mountain7200
Bear Mountain7166
Crooks Tower7137
Terry Peak7064
Δ Guadalupe Peak8749
Bush Mountain8631
Shumard Peak8615
Bartlett Peak8508
Baldy Peak8378
Mauna Kea13,796
Mauna Loa13,679
Puu Makanaka12,414
Haleakala Crater-South Rim8432
Puu o Maui8193
Puu Kukui5788
Δ Humphreys Peak12,633
Agassiz Peak12,356
Δ Fremont Peak11,969
Δ Doyle Peak11,460
Δ Mount Baldy11,403
Mount Ord11,357
Paradise Butte11,150
Δ Escudilla Mountain10,912
Δ Mount Graham10,720
Δ Kendrick Peak10,418
New Mexico
Δ Wheeler Peak13,161
Δ Truchas Peak13,102
Δ North Truchas Peak13,024
Big Costilla Peak12,931
Vintrero Benchmark12,881
Lake Fork Peak12,881
Δ Chimayosos Peak12,841
Δ Jicarita Peak12,835
Peak 1281912,819
Venado Peak12,734
Southeast States
Mount Mitchell6684
Clingmans Dome6643
Mount Guyot6621
Mount Le Conte6593
Mount Chapman6417
Richland Balsam6410
Celo Knob6327
Blackstock Knob6320
Waterrock Knob6292
Roan High Knob6285

Copyright © 1987-2017 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service