Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic Show List using Metric Units

High Points of Counties Crossed by the Continental Divide

RankCountyPeak Elev-Ft
Range (Level 5)Ascent Date
19.CO-ArchuletaSummit Peak13,300Southern San Juan Mountains 
10.CO-BoulderLongs Peak14,255Rocky Mountain National Park Area 
2.CO-ChaffeeMount Harvard14,420Collegiate Peaks 
6.CO-Clear CreekGrays Peak14,270Central Front Range 
22.CO-ConejosConejos Peak13,172Southern San Juan Mountains 
11.CO-EagleMount of the Holy Cross14,005Northern Sawatch Range 
20.CO-GilpinJames Peak13,294Central Front Range 
18.CO-GrandPettingell Peak13,553Central Front Range 
8.CO-GunnisonCastle Peak14,265Elk Mountains 
3.CO-HinsdaleUncompahgre Peak14,309North-Central San Juan Mountains 
25.CO-JacksonClark Peak12,951Medicine Bow Mountains 
1.CO-LakeMount Elbert14,433Elbert-Massive-Fryingpan Area 
17.CO-LarimerHagues Peak13,560Rocky Mountain National Park Area 
12.CO-MineralPhoenix Peak13,895La Garita Mountains 
5.CO-ParkMount Lincoln14,286Mosquito Range 
8.CO-PitkinCastle Peak14,265Elk Mountains 
21.CO-Rio GrandeBennett Peak13,203Southern San Juan Mountains 
26.CO-RouttMount Zirkel12,180Central Park Range 
4.CO-SaguacheCrestone Peak14,294Northern Sangre de Cristo Range 
13.CO-San JuanVermilion Peak13,894West-Central San Juan Mountains 
6.CO-SummitGrays Peak14,270Central Front Range 
32.ID-ClarkWebber Peak-East Peak11,220Beaverhead Mountains 
39.ID-FremontNorth Targhee Peak10,420Lionshead-Henrys Lake Ranges 
28.ID-LemhiBell Mountain11,612Lemhi Range 
33.MT-BeaverheadTweedy Mountain11,154Pioneer Mountains 
35.MT-Deer LodgeWest Goat Peak10,793Anaconda Range 
45.MT-FlatheadMount Stimson10,142Lewis Range 
36.MT-GallatinWilson Peak10,705Madison Range 
37.MT-GlacierMount Cleveland10,466Lewis Range 
38.MT-GraniteWarren Peak10,463Anaconda Range 
47.MT-JeffersonCrow Peak9414Elkhorn Mountains 
48.MT-Lewis and ClarkRed Mountain9411Flathead Range 
29.MT-MadisonHilgard Peak11,316Madison Range 
52.MT-PonderaPondera County High Point8460Rocky Mountain Front 
41.MT-PowellMount Powell10,168Flint Creek Range 
44.MT-RavalliTrapper Peak10,157Central Bitteroot Range 
40.MT-Silver BowTable Mountain10,223Highland Mountains 
49.MT-TetonRocky Mountain9392Rocky Mountain Front 
34.NM-CatronWhitewater Baldy10,895Mogollon Mountains 
30.NM-CibolaMount Taylor11,301North San Mateo Mountains 
42.NM-GrantMcKnight Mountain10,165Black Range 
51.NM-HidalgoAnimas Mountains High Point8565Animas Area 
53.NM-LunaCookes Peak8408West Las Cruces Ranges 
50.NM-McKinleyCerros de Alejandro9166North San Mateo Mountains 
24.NM-Rio ArribaTruchas Peak13,102Santa Fe Mountains 
31.NM-SandovalRedondo Peak11,254Jemez Mountains 
42.NM-SierraMcKnight Mountain10,165Black Range 
27.WY-CarbonMedicine Bow Peak-West Ridge11,920Medicine Bow Mountains 
14.WY-FremontGannett Peak13,804Northern Wind River Range 
23.WY-ParkFrancs Peak13,153Southern Absaroka Range 
14.WY-SubletteGannett Peak13,804Northern Wind River Range 
46.WY-SweetwaterPine Mountain9550East Flaming Gorge Area 
16.WY-TetonGrand Teton13,770Teton Range 

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

Important: This list show the highest points of the counties that the Continental Divide traverses. Note that many of these summits are not on or near the divide; often it does not go over or near the highest point in a county.


     Continental Divide Counties


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Dan Baxter   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 532636 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2017 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service