Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | OptimisticHide Unranked Peaks in List Show List using U.S. Units (Feet)

Sierra Club Desert Peaks Section

Sierra Club Angeles Chapter

Showing 's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (0 out of 0, or NaN%)

RankPeakSection Elev-M Range (Level 5) Prom-M 
1.White Mountain Peak1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties4342White Mountains2193
2.Mount Dubois1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties4133White Mountains707
3.Montgomery Peak1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties4097White Mountains386
4.Boundary Peak1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties4005White Mountains77
5.Wheeler Peak6. Nevada3982Snake Range2305
6.Humphreys Peak8. Arizona3851Flagstaff Area1841
7.Mount Jefferson6. Nevada3640Toquima Range1786
8.Charleston Peak6. Nevada3632Spring Mountains2512
9.Arc Dome6. Nevada3588Toiyabe Range1589
10.Mount Patterson1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties3558Pine Nut-Sweetwater Ranges1266
11.Mummy Mountain6. Nevada3514Spring Mountains244
12.Ruby Dome6. Nevada3471Ruby-East Humboldt Mountains1461
13.Glass Mountain1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties3402Mono-Benton-Excelsior Area969
14.Waucoba Mountain1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties3390Inyo Mountains1196
15.Keynot Peak1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties3384Inyo Mountains924
16.Telescope Peak2. Death Valley - Inyo County3367Panamint Range1880
17.Mount Inyo1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties3345Inyo Mountains285
18.New York Butte1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties3252Inyo Mountains350
19.Picacho del Diablo9. Mexico3095Sierra San Pedro Martir2115
20.Hayford Peak6. Nevada3021Sheep Range1643
21.Pleasant Point1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties2954Inyo Mountains357
22.Sentinel Peak2. Death Valley - Inyo County2936Panamint Range474
23.Porter Peak2. Death Valley - Inyo County2774Panamint Range153
24.Tin Mountain2. Death Valley - Inyo County2729Panamint Range1217
25.Grapevine Peak2. Death Valley - Inyo County2663Amargosa Range1390
26.Dry Mountain2. Death Valley - Inyo County2644Panamint Range1095
27.Potosi Mountain6. Nevada2595Spring Mountains918
28.Last Chance Mountain2. Death Valley - Inyo County2577Esmeralda County Ranges724
29.Mount Stirling6. Nevada2505Spring Mountains310
30.Virgin Peak6. Nevada2460Eastern Lincoln County Ranges970
31.Mount Palmer2. Death Valley - Inyo County2426Amargosa Range219
32.Clark Mountain3. San Bernardino County2410Clark Range-Ivanpah Mountains1290
33.Baboquivari Peak8. Arizona2357Baboquivari Area1278
34.Nelson Range High Point1. Trans-Sierra - Mono and Inyo Counties2346Inyo Mountains505
35.New York Mountains High Point3. San Bernardino County2296New York Mountains1016
36.North Guardian Angel7. Utah2254Markagunt Plateau-Zion206
37.Kingston Peak3. San Bernardino County2236Kingston Range1136
38.Manly Peak2. Death Valley - Inyo County2193Panamint Range773
 Edgar Peak3. San Bernardino County2183Central Mojave Ranges673
39.Mount Tipton8. Arizona2179Cerbat Mountains1106
40.South Guardian Angel7. Utah2176Markagunt Plateau-Zion367
41.Sandy Point2. Death Valley - Inyo County2152Esmeralda County Ranges494
42.Mitchell Point3. San Bernardino County2148Central Mojave Ranges278
43.McCullough Mountain6. Nevada2142McCullough Range662
44.Bridge Mountain6. Nevada2130Spring Mountains210
45.Granite Mountain3. San Bernardino County2061Central Mojave Ranges851
46.Tucki Mountain2. Death Valley - Inyo County2050Panamint Range563
47.Pyramid Peak2. Death Valley - Inyo County2043Amargosa Range1129
48.Rabbit Peak4. Riverside County2024San Jacinto Mountains366
49.Panamint Butte2. Death Valley - Inyo County2007Panamint Range154
50.Martinez Mountain4. Riverside County2000San Jacinto Mountains525
51.Moapa Peak6. Nevada1972Eastern Lincoln County Ranges509
52.Nopah Range High Point2. Death Valley - Inyo County1949Southeast Death Valley Ranges1089
53.East Ord Mountain3. San Bernardino County1880Southern Mojave Ranges454
54.Avawatz Peak3. San Bernardino County1876Northwest Mojave Ranges1004
55.Smith Mountain2. Death Valley - Inyo County1802Amargosa Range486
56.Canyon Point2. Death Valley - Inyo County1795Panamint Range332
57.Corkscrew Peak2. Death Valley - Inyo County1769Amargosa Range196
58.Needle Peak2. Death Valley - Inyo County1768Panamint Range503
59.Pahrump Point2. Death Valley - Inyo County1750Southeast Death Valley Ranges105
60.Spirit Mountain6. Nevada1719Eldorado-Newberry Mountains878
61.Muddy Peak6. Nevada1642Las Vegas Ranges267
62.Eagle Mountain4. Riverside County1631Joshua Tree Ranges680
63.Old Woman Mountain3. San Bernardino County1623Southeast Mojave Ranges833
64.Stewart Point2. Death Valley - Inyo County1605Southeast Death Valley Ranges725
65.Superstition Benchmark8. Arizona1541Northeast Tucson Area554
66.Rosa Point4. Riverside County1524San Jacinto Mountains85
67.Pico Risco9. Mexico1520Sierra Juarez100
68.Brown Peak2. Death Valley - Inyo County1508Amargosa Range513
69.Signal Peak8. Arizona1487Kofa Area1060
70.Mount Ajo8. Arizona1465Organ Pipe Area822
71.Sheep Hole Mountains High Point3. San Bernardino County1406Southern Mojave Ranges676
72.Weavers Needle8. Arizona1388Northeast Tucson Area303
73.Jacumba Mountain5. San Diego and Imperial Counties1375San Diego Area Ranges388
74.Black Butte4. Riverside County1373Chocolate Mountains867
75.Spectre Peak4. Riverside County1366Southern Mojave Ranges776
76.Granite Mountain4. Riverside County1320Southeast Mojave Ranges1010
77.Turtle Mountains High Point3. San Bernardino County1310Southeast Mojave Ranges810
78.Old Dad Mountain3. San Bernardino County1296Clark Range-Ivanpah Mountains371
79.Sombrero Peak5. San Diego and Imperial Counties1289San Diego Area Ranges100
80.Whipple Mountains High Point3. San Bernardino County1259Southeast Mojave Ranges850
81.Pinto Mountain4. Riverside County1214Joshua Tree Ranges382
82.Indianhead5. San Diego and Imperial Counties1207San Diego Area Ranges232
83.Cerro del Pinacate9. Mexico1200Cabeza Prieta Area960
84.Palen Mountains High Point4. Riverside County1173Southeast Mojave Ranges713
85.Orocopia Mountains High Point4. Riverside County1163Chocolate Mountains639
86.Eagle Mountain2. Death Valley - Inyo County1160Southeast Death Valley Ranges508
87.Castle Dome Peak8. Arizona1155Kofa Area636
88.Chemehuevi Peak3. San Bernardino County1126Southeast Mojave Ranges541
89.Cerro Pescadores9. Mexico1080West Colorado Delta1020
90.Mopah Point3. San Bernardino County1076Southeast Mojave Ranges293
91.Chuckwalla Mountains High Point4. Riverside County1050Chocolate Mountains435
92.Big Maria Mountains High Point4. Riverside County1031Southeast Mojave Ranges701
93.Kino Peak8. Arizona974Organ Pipe Area468
94.Stepladder Mountains3. San Bernardino County896Southeast Mojave Ranges221
95.Picacho Peak5. San Diego and Imperial Counties585Chocolate Mountains334

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

Note that the Desert Peaks Section will sometimes "suspend" a peak from this list due to fire closures, access issues, or other reasons. These suspended peaks are a still listed here, but as unranked peaks. When they are un-suspended, they will become fully ranked peaks once again.

If a peak is de-listed, it will be removed entirely from the list here. This is a more severe action than suspension.


     Sierra Club Desert Peaks Section Desert Peaks Section List


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peak with Rank #1 on List;   = Other Peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 709383 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2018 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service