Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic Show List using Metric Units

Arkansas County High Points

Showing Dave Dunham's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (4 out of 75, or 5.33%)

RankCountyPeak Elev-Ft Range (Level 5) Prom-Ft Ascent Date
1.LoganMagazine Mountain2753Northern Ouachita Mountains21332009-12-18
2.PolkRich Mountain2681Central Ouachita Mountains19212009-12-19
3.ScottPoteau Mountain2660Northern Ouachita Mountains1880 
3.SebastianPoteau Mountain2660Northern Ouachita Mountains1880 
5.SalineSmith Pinnacle-North Slope1800Central Ouachita Mountains0 
5.IndependenceBrock Mountain-Northwest Slope1200Boston Mountains0 
5.ClarkTrap Mountain-South Peak960Southern Ouachita Mountains0 
8.NewtonBuffalo Lookout2561Boston Mountains  
8.MadisonMadison County High Point2515Boston Mountains  
8.FranklinHare Mountain2440Boston Mountains  
8.YellPetit Jean Mountain2440Northern Ouachita Mountains 2009-12-18
8.CrawfordShepherd Mountain2414Boston Mountains  
8.WashingtonTemple Hill2382Boston Mountains  
8.JohnsonGarlands Knob2360Boston Mountains  
8.CarrollCarroll County High Point2312Boston Mountains  
8.BooneBoone County High Point2240Boston Mountains  
8.MontgomerySlatington Benchmark2209Southern Ouachita Mountains  
8.PopeColeman Knob West2205Boston Mountains  
8.SearcyHorn Mountain2203Boston Mountains  
8.Van BurenVan Buren County High Point2000Boston Mountains  
8.GarlandOuachita Pinnacle1961Central Ouachita Mountains  
8.StoneBlue Mountain-Strand Knob1840Boston Mountains  
8.PerryDeckard Mountain1812Central Ouachita Mountains  
8.BentonWhitney Mountain1808Boston Mountains  
8.PikeHogpen Mountain1780Southern Ouachita Mountains  
8.HowardBig Tom Mountain1660Southern Ouachita Mountains  
8.BaxterBaxter County High Point1409Boston Mountains  
8.MarionMarion County High Point1345Boston Mountains  
8.CleburneCleburne County High Point1340Boston Mountains  
8.Hot SpringBismarck Lookout1282Southern Ouachita Mountains 2009-12-20
8.ConwayPetit Jean Mountain-Northeast Bluff1207Northern Ouachita Mountains  
8.FultonWallace Knob1138Central Ozark Plateau  
8.IzardThompson Mountain1124Central Ozark Plateau  
8.PulaskiShinall Mountain1060Central Ouachita Mountains  
8.SharpSharp County High Point960Central Ozark Plateau  
8.RandolphRandolph County High Point922Central Ozark Plateau  
8.FaulknerBuffalo Hump882Boston Mountains  
8.SevierSevier County High Point880Southern Ouachita Mountains  
8.WhiteWhite County High Point880Boston Mountains  
8.JacksonJackson County High Point820Boston Mountains  
8.LawrenceLawrence County High Point780Central Ozark Plateau  
8.GreeneGreene County High Point560Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.LonokeWilson Hill-East Ridge560Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.ClayCrowleys Ridge540Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.HempsteadHempstead County High Point540Southern Ouachita Mountains  
8.NevadaNevada County High Point520Ouachita Foothills  
8.CraigheadCraighead County High Point510Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.MillerMiller County High Point510Plains of East Texas  
8.GrantGrant County High Point500Ouachita Foothills  
8.DallasDallas County High Point490Ouachita Foothills  
8.Little RiverLittle River County High Point480Southern Ouachita Mountains  
8.CrossCross County High Point460Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.Saint FrancisSaint Francis County High Point455Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.PoinsettDead Benchmark454Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.JeffersonJennings Hill433Ouachita Foothills  
8.ColumbiaColumbia County High Point430Ouachita Foothills  
8.DrewDrew County High Point420Ouachita Foothills  
8.PhillipsCrowleys Ridge-South Summit410Mississippi-Tennessee-Tombigee  
8.LincolnLincoln County High Point410Ouachita Foothills  
8.OuachitaChidester Benchmark405Ouachita Foothills  
8.CalhounCalhoun County High Point400Ouachita Foothills  
8.LafayetteLafayette County High Point400Ouachita Foothills  
8.LeeLee County High Point390Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.UnionUnion County High Point380Ouachita Foothills  
8.ClevelandCleveland County High Point320Ouachita Foothills  
8.BradleyBradley County High Point300Ouachita Foothills  
8.PrairiePrairie County High Point270Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.MississippiMississippi County High Point265Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.AshleyAshley County High Point240Ouachita Foothills  
8.CrittendenCrittenden County High Point240Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.WoodruffWoodruff County High Point240Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.ArkansasArkansas County High Point225Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.MonroeMonroe County High Point220Ozark Plateau Foothills  
8.DeshaDesha County High Point180Ouachita Foothills  
8.ChicotChicot County High Point160Ouachita Foothills  

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Arkansas, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills and David Olson, reviewed by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points on this list provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Dave Dunham   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 404002 times since 2004-11-01.

Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page
Copyright © 1987-2015 by All Rights Reserved.