Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic Show List using U.S. Units (Feet)

Ireland County High Points

Showing Matthias Ihl's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (6 out of 26, or 23.08%)

RankCountyPeak Elev-M
Range (Level 4)Ascent Date
23.MonaghanSlieve Beagh-East Ridge375Northeast Ireland 
16.LouthSlieve FoyeNullNortheast Ireland 
24.LongfordCorn HillNullNortheast Ireland 
24.MeathSlieve na CalliaghNullNortheast Ireland 
26.WestmeathMullaghmeenNullNortheast Ireland 
10.DonegalErrigal MountainNullNortheast Ireland 
22.KildareCupidstown HillNullSoutheast Ireland 
9.DublinKippureNullSoutheast Ireland2012-07-14
18.LaoisArderinNullSoutheast Ireland 
18.OffalyArderinNullSoutheast Ireland 
2.WicklowLugnaquillia MountainNullSoutheast Ireland2011-12-10
6.CarlowMount LeinsterNullSoutheast Ireland 
6.WexfordMount LeinsterNullSoutheast Ireland 
20.KilkennyBrandon HillNullSoutheast Ireland2011-10-08
3.LimerickGaltymore MountainNullSouthwest Ireland2011-10-09
3.TipperaryGaltymore MountainNullSouthwest Ireland2011-10-09
8.WaterfordKnockmealdownNullSouthwest Ireland 
1.KerryCarrauntoohilNullSouthwest Ireland2012-06-26
12.CorkKnockboyNullSouthwest Ireland 
21.RoscommonCorry Mountain-South Slope415Western Ireland 
5.MayoMweelreaNullWestern Ireland 
11.GalwayBenbaunNullWestern Ireland 
17.ClareMoylussaNullWestern Ireland 
14.LeitrimTruskmoreNullWestern Ireland 
14.SligoTruskmoreNullWestern Ireland 
13.CavanCuillaghNullWestern Ireland 

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

In recent years there have been some changes to the administrative counties in Ireland and they no longer match the traditional 26 counties. Some counties have been split, and then some have been later reconstituted. As of 2014, the net effect is that the former Dublin County is now administratively divided into 3 new counties plus the city of Dublin, and the cities of Cork and Galway are now separate from the surrounding namesake counties.

Since these changes are relatively minor, and the existing counties are well-known and have been around for hundreds of years, this list will continue to show the 26 traditional counties. If more change occurs, this policy may be reconsidered. But for now it still makes sense to keep the historic counties that everyone still knows and uses.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Matthias Ihl   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 808428 times since 2004-11-01.

Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page
Copyright © 1987-2016 by All Rights Reserved.