Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic Show List using U.S. Units (Feet)

Ireland County High Points

Showing Matthias Ihl's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (6 out of 26, or 23.08%)

RankCountyPeak Elev-M
Range (Level 4)Ascent Date
18.LaoisArderin527Southeast Ireland 
18.OffalyArderin527Southeast Ireland 
11.GalwayBenbaun725Western Ireland 
20.KilkennyBrandon Hill516Southeast Ireland2011-10-08
1.KerryCarrauntoohil1039Southwest Ireland2012-06-26
24.LongfordCorn Hill276Northeast Ireland 
21.RoscommonCorry Mountain-South Slope415Western Ireland 
13.CavanCuillagh665Western Ireland 
22.KildareCupidstown Hill379Southeast Ireland 
10.DonegalErrigal Mountain751Northeast Ireland 
3.LimerickGaltymore Mountain919Southwest Ireland2011-10-09
3.TipperaryGaltymore Mountain919Southwest Ireland2011-10-09
9.DublinKippure757Southeast Ireland2012-07-14
12.CorkKnockboy706Southwest Ireland 
8.WaterfordKnockmealdown794Southwest Ireland 
2.WicklowLugnaquillia Mountain925Southeast Ireland2011-12-10
6.CarlowMount Leinster795Southeast Ireland 
6.WexfordMount Leinster795Southeast Ireland 
17.ClareMoylussa532Western Ireland 
26.WestmeathMullaghmeen261Northeast Ireland 
5.MayoMweelrea814Western Ireland 
23.MonaghanSlieve Beagh-East Ridge375Northeast Ireland 
16.LouthSlieve Foye589Northeast Ireland 
24.MeathSlieve na Calliagh276Northeast Ireland 
14.LeitrimTruskmore647Western Ireland 
14.SligoTruskmore647Western Ireland 

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

In recent years there have been some changes to the administrative counties in Ireland and they no longer match the traditional 26 counties. Some counties have been split, and then some have been later reconstituted. As of 2014, the net effect is that the former Dublin County is now administratively divided into 3 new counties plus the city of Dublin, and the cities of Cork and Galway are now separate from the surrounding namesake counties.

Since these changes are relatively minor, and the existing counties are well-known and have been around for hundreds of years, this list will continue to show the 26 traditional counties. If more change occurs, this policy may be reconsidered. But for now it still makes sense to keep the historic counties that everyone still knows and uses.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Matthias Ihl   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 838342 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2017 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service