Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic  Show List using Metric Units

Ireland County High Points

Showing 's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (0 out of 0, or NaN%)

RankCountyPeak Elev-Ft Range (Level 4)
6.CarlowMount Leinster2608Southeast Ireland
13.CavanCuillagh2182Western Ireland
17.ClareMoylussa1745Western Ireland
12.CorkKnockboy2316Southwest Ireland
10.DonegalErrigal Mountain2464Northeast Ireland
9.DublinKippure2484Southeast Ireland
11.GalwayBenbaun2379Western Ireland
1.KerryCarrauntoohil3409Southwest Ireland
22.KildareCupidstown Hill1243Southeast Ireland
20.KilkennyBrandon Hill1693Southeast Ireland
18.LaoisArderin1729Southeast Ireland
14.LeitrimTruskmore2123Western Ireland
3.LimerickGaltymore Mountain3015Southwest Ireland
24.LongfordCorn Hill906Northeast Ireland
16.LouthSlieve Foye1932Northeast Ireland
5.MayoMweelrea2671Western Ireland
24.MeathSlieve na Calliagh906Northeast Ireland
23.MonaghanSlieve Beagh-East Ridge1214Northeast Ireland
18.OffalyArderin1729Southeast Ireland
21.RoscommonCorry Mountain-South Slope1345Western Ireland
14.SligoTruskmore2123Western Ireland
3.TipperaryGaltymore Mountain3015Southwest Ireland
8.WaterfordKnockmealdown2605Southwest Ireland
26.WestmeathMullaghmeen856Northeast Ireland
6.WexfordMount Leinster2608Southeast Ireland
2.WicklowLugnaquillia Mountain3035Southeast Ireland

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

In recent years there have been some changes to the administrative counties in Ireland and they no longer match the traditional 26 counties. Some counties have been split, and then some have been later reconstituted. As of 2014, the net effect is that the former Dublin County is now administratively divided into 3 new counties plus the city of Dublin, and the cities of Cork and Galway are now separate from the surrounding namesake counties.

Since these changes are relatively minor, and the existing counties are well-known and have been around for hundreds of years, this list will continue to show the 26 traditional counties. If more change occurs, this policy may be reconsidered. But for now it still makes sense to keep the historic counties that everyone still knows and uses.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peak with Rank #1 on List;   = Other Peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 888898 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2018 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service