Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Show List using Metric Units

Ireland County High Points

Showing Mark McSherry's most recent ascent dates for climbed peaks (3 out of 26, or 11.54%)

RankCountyPeak Elev-Ft Range (Level 4)Ascent Date
1.CavanCuillagh2182Western Ireland2011-04-16
2.DonegalErrigal Mountain2464Northeast Ireland2011-04-23
3.MeathSlieve na Calliagh906Northeast Ireland2011-06-05
 KerryCarrauntoohil3409Southwest Ireland 
 WicklowLugnaquillia Mountain3035Southeast Ireland 
 LimerickGaltymore Mountain3015Southwest Ireland 
 TipperaryGaltymore Mountain3015Southwest Ireland 
 MayoMweelrea2671Western Ireland 
 CarlowMount Leinster2608Southeast Ireland 
 WexfordMount Leinster2608Southeast Ireland 
 WaterfordKnockmealdown2605Southwest Ireland 
 DublinKippure2484Southeast Ireland 
 GalwayBenbaun2379Western Ireland 
 CorkKnockboy2316Southwest Ireland 
 LeitrimTruskmore2123Western Ireland 
 SligoTruskmore2123Western Ireland 
 LouthSlieve Foye1932Northeast Ireland 
 ClareMoylussa1745Western Ireland 
 LaoisArderin1729Southeast Ireland 
 OffalyArderin1729Southeast Ireland 
 KilkennyBrandon Hill1693Southeast Ireland 
 RoscommonCorry Mountain-South Slope1345Western Ireland 
 KildareCupidstown Hill1243Southeast Ireland 
 MonaghanSlieve Beagh-East Ridge1214Northeast Ireland 
 LongfordCorn Hill906Northeast Ireland 
 WestmeathMullaghmeen856Northeast Ireland 

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

In recent years there have been some changes to the administrative counties in Ireland and they no longer match the traditional 26 counties. Some counties have been split, and then some have been later reconstituted. As of 2014, the net effect is that the former Dublin County is now administratively divided into 3 new counties plus the city of Dublin, and the cities of Cork and Galway are now separate from the surrounding namesake counties.

Since these changes are relatively minor, and the existing counties are well-known and have been around for hundreds of years, this list will continue to show the 26 traditional counties. If more change occurs, this policy may be reconsidered. But for now it still makes sense to keep the historic counties that everyone still knows and uses.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Mark McSherry   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 878288 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2018 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service